Graphic Novels

Hello my lovely readers,

If you have read my previous blog post here, you may recognise a couple of books that I haven’t exactly touched on at all in my years a book blogger – and those are graphic novels!

Continue reading

Monthly Wrap-Up | September 2016

Hello lovely readers and fellow bibliophiles,

A quick life update :

200w_d-2.gif

I cannot believe that it is already October, and that I have been at my new job for a month! Everything has been so hectic lately, so I have not had the time to actually read books, and write blog posts! In addition to, I have had a cold for the past week – so I haven’t been feeling all that well in the past few days.

Also, I am applying for University this year, so I have been writing my personal statement and all that – so it’s been quite stressful as well! However, I am glad that I am almost done with my UCAS application and hopefully this week I will be able to send my application off!

Lastly, I am moving! It may not be as exciting to you as it is for me – but the simple fact remains that the place I am moving in – with the family, of course – has a garden! Mother also consented on me buying a shed where I can make a little outdoor library for myself. Although that may not be happening for at least a few more months. But, it’s exciting and I am looking forward to having my own little nook outdoors.

Enough of that, and let’s move on to the books I have read this month!

September Wrap-Up

Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

The last book in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Trilogy – I was so happy when the paperback version came out this year and once I saw it in Waterstone’s I didn’t even think twice about getting the book. It was a wonderful read, and I think it was a great end to the trilogy. Although I have some questions about the characters – I am happy with how it is!

I just now need to buy the new Tales of the Peculiar!!

A Time to Tour Ghost City by Anjum Choundhury

I was given an eARC of the novella by the author, I gave it a 3.5 stars overall. I don’t really know how to explain the story without completely giving it away. So I’ll just say this – they travel back to time. The story itself was interesting, but I had hoped that the characters would have felt more wholesome, and far more complex to make the story more lively. There’s plenty of action, and sexual tension between the characters – but I didn’t think it was as well executed as it could have been. But world building was great!

(I haven’t written anything in a while, and I feel like my writing style is just going downhill at the moment!!!! My grammar and punctuation are appalling! )

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

I stayed up all night just to read this novel! I simply could not put it down, and I cried my eyes out when everything became clear. My heart broke.

In conclusion, this was a brilliant piece of work, and I highly recommend it!

Improbables by Jonathan Charles Bruce

This was a great novel! I loved it, something I didn’t quite expect if I am completely being honest. If you are a fan of vampires and werewolves and other supernatural beings – I think this book would be a good next read for you. Not only that, but this novel actually touches on the more important side of society and actually address social issues – like discrimination.


Well that is all I have for you guys, for now.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and hopefully will see you soon on my next one!

 

 

Book Haul | June 2016

Hello my lovely readers,

First week of July is already over and we have entered its second week… how crazy is that?! I still think that we are in March or April, but we are already more than halfway through the year, and time is flying by so fast!

Well, today I taught it would be the best time to do a post of my June book haul – because I bought a ridiculous amount of books in my opinion, I spent money that I did not have and I just did not care at all.

I haven’t uploaded much content either – and I have been on a reading slump – I mean I am almost half-way through a book and I just stopped reading it. Last month has been terrible in terms of the number of books I have read. So, I tried boosting my morale by buying books – but it didn’t really help. It just caused me to want to hit my head on the wall because now my TBR pile has increased again! ASDFGHJKL

giphy (5)

Oh well. I just hope that I will be able to get through every single book by the end of this year, and actually do a book review of every single one of them. Especially as I have finished with school and I am finally free from all of my school work… which is a lie, because I have a 3 week course that I applied to (which I kind of regret doing, but not at the same time as it is work experience) and… I am rambling. Moving on!

Let’s get on with the books I have bought this month, but most likely will not be reading until much, much later on in the year! I bought a mix of books from Children’s to YA, as well as some General Fiction and a book of philosophy. Continue reading

Would You Rather |Shop At Bookshops or Online?

Hello lovelies,

I am procrastinating (when am I not?) at the moment, since exam season has started I don’t feel like getting stressed, so instead I’m here and taking tw for myself and you guys!

So, let us play another round of would you rather!

Would You Rather Shop at Bookshops or Online?

Let me know your answers in the comment section 🙂 

Personally, I would rather shop in a book store rather than online. As much as it is easier to buy books online from the comfort of your bed, without the need to interact with other people – and get it delivered to your door, there is nothing like the feeling of walking into a book store and feeling like you belong there.

Cheesy as it may sound, I know. But the thing is I love going to the bookstore and just browsing all of these different books. Discovering new novels you’ve never heard of before or simply just admiring the shelves as you ambled by. 

There is no sense of satisfaction from ordering books online. If I do order books, I often choose click and collect, that way I can still have a gander around the bookshop! 

Book Review | Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger.png

Passenger | Amazon

  • Series: Passenger
  • Publisher: Quercus Children’s Books
  • Publication Date: 07 April, 2016
  • Genre: Sci-Fi & Fantasy, Teens & YA

NetGalley Description

Fans of Outlander and Red Queen will be swept away by this epic New York Times bestselling story of love, adventure and deceit.

In one devastating night, Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has travelled not just miles but years from home.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods – a powerful family in the Colonies – and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, his passenger, can find.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveller who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to their target, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home forever.

Continue reading

Monthly Wrap-Up | March 2016 + Mini Book Reviews

A lovely day to be staying indoors and being a recluse from the outside world.

But, seriously – it is such a lovely day outside today. The sun is out and I can literally hear birds singing! Like where’s the rain and dreary weather England?!

Anyhow, today is the day that I will do my Monthly Wrap Up, because I forgot to do it last night! I have not written much book reviews lately so this will also serve as a Mini Book Review post.

Continue reading

Tag | 3 Days, 3 Quotes

Hello lovelies,

For the next three days I shall be sharing, with you guys, three quotes from my imaginary quotebook (although, I think that is such a sweet idea I might just make one).

First of all, I would like to thank Emma-Jane from The Book Crunch for tagging me!

The rules:

  • Thank the person you nominated you
  • Post a quote for three consecutive days
  • Nominate three new bloggers each day

Quote #1

“HELLO, my name is your potential. But you can call me impossible. I am the missed opportunities. I am the expectations you will never fulfil. I am always taunting you, regardless of how hard you try, reagrdless of how much you hope.”

(this quote is from The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filer)

Quite a deep and dark quote for a start, but I just couldn’t get this quote out of my mind for the past couple of days now, after reading it from the book. So, I just wanted to get it out there… The next one will be much lighter, I promise.

People I am tagging:

Jam from heartscentreads

Ines from MsCarrowl

Imogene from Amidst the Pages (mugglebooks)

See you soon,

Nielle xxx