Book Review | Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler

Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler

Description provided by NetGalley:

A brave and honest coming of age story about one girl’s exploration of love, identity and sexuality – the first YA novel from bestselling author Liz Kessler.

Ashleigh Walker is having a difficult year. She’s struggling at school, and coming home to parents who are on the verge of divorce. She knows she should be happy spending time with her boyfriend – but, for some reason, being around him just makes her worry more. It’s only in her English teacher, Miss Murray, that she feels she’s found a kindred spirit.

Miss Murray helps Ashleigh develop her writing skills and gives her newfound confidence – but what happens when boundaries begin to blur? What will the repercussions be for Ashleigh? And how will she navigate her own sexuality?

A thought-provoking coming of age story from a highly-skilled author, addressing coming out and LGBT themes. For fans of Sarah Waters and Jodie Piccoult.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Bookish Haul #1 and Ramblings

Hello my lovelies,

It has been a few days since I last created a content on my blog – I have been quite busy with school work and with work in general. I have been so preoccupied that I still haven’t finished reading A Little Life – even though I have been dying to read it!

But anyway – enough with the excuses and on with the post!

I am here with you today to talk about a bookish and stationery haul that I did just a couple of days ago when I was in London! I do hope that this will be a recurring post as I am planning on buying more bookish knickknacks and whatnot for the duration of my career as a book blogger and bookstagramer as I have realized how bland my photographs are.

Although, I do take a pleasure in splurging all my money on all the bookish little knickknacks that I can get my hands on, and I feel like London is just the place for that!

So, I went to London for a couple of days – you know just to go and visit the City, and I love it there. There is so much energy coming from the Londoners. When I went to take a walk in Kensington Gardens early in the morning, there were so many people taking their morning walks and jogs and I just felt so energized.

Furthermore, their bookshops are so much bigger than from where I live – like 3 times bigger and I just have a massive nerdfest going on in my head and I just go crazy looking at all the titles that gets added to my long list of ‘Books to Buy’ – and as usual I keep on digressing!

Here are the things that I bought!

Continue reading

Currenlty Reading: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Hello my lovelies,

I feel good with myself as I have been posting so much for the past week, and that hasn’t happened before I don’t think.

It has become a habit of mine now to write at least one post everyday or every other day so that I could interact more with people – I have been looking at all the different book blogs out there – and I must say I am a little bit envious of the beautiful and amazing bookblogs out there. Of course there is no malicious intent in this – more like a benign envy – like “Oh, how I wish I have a blog like this. I will work hard to make mine as good as this blog – or I can just enjoy the way things are and be content with it” kind of envy.

Today, I would like to talk to you about my recent book purchase and am currently reading, A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. A Little Life

Waterstones had a Half Price Sale on some of the books that they have, and A Little Life was one of them – I wasn’t going to buy any books, I just went there to get myself some bookmarks, because I kept of losing the bookmarks that I use… thinking that with me buying a bookmark I won’t have to worry about losing it because I would be too careful as to where I’ll be leaving the bookmark.

But, in the end I bought this book and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

 I have heard so many good things about this book, and all of the things I hear about it is always positive. I’ve only just started reading it and I’ve only managed to read the first chapter – but already I can tell that this book is going to break me and I will be reduced to tears and my heart into tiny litte smithereens and there is no one stopping me from reading this book.

It is a humongous book and no doubt it may take me a while to read it. Granted that it has nearly 800 pages – But I am determined to finish reading it within this week, and hope that when I am reading it in public I will not cry, although I think I was at the verge of letting out a pained sound while reading the book earlier on the bus, but I managed to keep my discomfort to myself – but I did have to stop reading for a couple minutes though.

I already adore the writing style, and it is easy to read and it flows so well. Therefore, I am hoping that with this type of writing style I will be able to whisk through the book and be absorbed in the lives of Willem, Jude, Malcolm and JB in no time at all.

Now I want to ask you guys whether you have read this book – and if so, how did you find it? Was it good? Bad? I want to hear from you.
If you have not read it however, are you planning to?

Well, that is all I have to say for now!

See you guys on the next post,

Nielle xx

Would You Rather: Paperback vs Hardback

I have decided to create another post about books and their format, here is the previous one that I made before – but this time it’s between paperbacks and hardbacks instead of hardcopy and e-book.

So, just like before… I would like to ask book lovers like me out there whether they would rather buy the hardback version of the book or the paperback version.

Continue reading