Book Review | The Faraway North by Ian Cumpstey

51PjBB5bRDL.jpg

  •  Title | The Faraway North
  • Author | Ian Cumpstey
  • Publisher |Skadi Press
  • Publication Date | 23 June 2016
  • Format | eBook

Rating:5-stars

These ballads convey a fantastic vision of the world as it was imagined in medieval Scandinavia, with monsters and magic intermingled with very human concerns of heroism, tragedy, love, and revenge.

The great hero Sigurd is joined in this collection by troll-battling warriors including Holger Dane, Orm the Strong, and others. There are dramatic scenes of romance, betrayal, and loss. Some of the ballads translated here are attested by paintings or maps that date from earlier than when the first full ballad texts were first written down in the 1500s. An adventure ballad relevant to the history of an Eddic poem is also included.

The ballads are storytelling songs that were passed down as part of an oral folk music tradition in Scandinavia. This collection brings many new ballads to the English-speaking reader. The readable verse translations succeed in conveying the rhythm, spirit, and imagery of the originals. The translations are mainly based on Swedish and Norwegian ballads, with some from Danish tradition.

For each ballad, there is also a short introduction with commentary and background information.

The ballads included are:
Åsmund Frægdegjeva; Steinfinn Fefinnson; Esbjörn Proud and Orm the Strong; Sunfair and the Dragon King; Bendik and Årolilja; Sigurd Sven; Sivard Snare Sven; Little Lisa; Sven Norman and Miss Gullborg; Peter Pallebosson; Sir Svedendal; King Speleman; Holger Dane and Burman; Sven Felding; St Olaf’s Sailing Race.

Continue reading

Advertisements

Book Review | Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler

Read Me Like a Book by Liz Kessler

Description provided by NetGalley:

A brave and honest coming of age story about one girl’s exploration of love, identity and sexuality – the first YA novel from bestselling author Liz Kessler.

Ashleigh Walker is having a difficult year. She’s struggling at school, and coming home to parents who are on the verge of divorce. She knows she should be happy spending time with her boyfriend – but, for some reason, being around him just makes her worry more. It’s only in her English teacher, Miss Murray, that she feels she’s found a kindred spirit.

Miss Murray helps Ashleigh develop her writing skills and gives her newfound confidence – but what happens when boundaries begin to blur? What will the repercussions be for Ashleigh? And how will she navigate her own sexuality?

A thought-provoking coming of age story from a highly-skilled author, addressing coming out and LGBT themes. For fans of Sarah Waters and Jodie Piccoult.

Continue reading

Bookish Haul #1 and Ramblings

Hello my lovelies,

It has been a few days since I last created a content on my blog – I have been quite busy with school work and with work in general. I have been so preoccupied that I still haven’t finished reading A Little Life – even though I have been dying to read it!

But anyway – enough with the excuses and on with the post!

I am here with you today to talk about a bookish and stationery haul that I did just a couple of days ago when I was in London! I do hope that this will be a recurring post as I am planning on buying more bookish knickknacks and whatnot for the duration of my career as a book blogger and bookstagramer as I have realized how bland my photographs are.

Although, I do take a pleasure in splurging all my money on all the bookish little knickknacks that I can get my hands on, and I feel like London is just the place for that!

So, I went to London for a couple of days – you know just to go and visit the City, and I love it there. There is so much energy coming from the Londoners. When I went to take a walk in Kensington Gardens early in the morning, there were so many people taking their morning walks and jogs and I just felt so energized.

Furthermore, their bookshops are so much bigger than from where I live – like 3 times bigger and I just have a massive nerdfest going on in my head and I just go crazy looking at all the titles that gets added to my long list of ‘Books to Buy’ – and as usual I keep on digressing!

Here are the things that I bought!

Continue reading

Currenlty Reading: A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

Hello my lovelies,

I feel good with myself as I have been posting so much for the past week, and that hasn’t happened before I don’t think.

It has become a habit of mine now to write at least one post everyday or every other day so that I could interact more with people – I have been looking at all the different book blogs out there – and I must say I am a little bit envious of the beautiful and amazing bookblogs out there. Of course there is no malicious intent in this – more like a benign envy – like “Oh, how I wish I have a blog like this. I will work hard to make mine as good as this blog – or I can just enjoy the way things are and be content with it” kind of envy.

Today, I would like to talk to you about my recent book purchase and am currently reading, A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara. A Little Life

Waterstones had a Half Price Sale on some of the books that they have, and A Little Life was one of them – I wasn’t going to buy any books, I just went there to get myself some bookmarks, because I kept of losing the bookmarks that I use… thinking that with me buying a bookmark I won’t have to worry about losing it because I would be too careful as to where I’ll be leaving the bookmark.

But, in the end I bought this book and Hollow City by Ransom Riggs.

 I have heard so many good things about this book, and all of the things I hear about it is always positive. I’ve only just started reading it and I’ve only managed to read the first chapter – but already I can tell that this book is going to break me and I will be reduced to tears and my heart into tiny litte smithereens and there is no one stopping me from reading this book.

It is a humongous book and no doubt it may take me a while to read it. Granted that it has nearly 800 pages – But I am determined to finish reading it within this week, and hope that when I am reading it in public I will not cry, although I think I was at the verge of letting out a pained sound while reading the book earlier on the bus, but I managed to keep my discomfort to myself – but I did have to stop reading for a couple minutes though.

I already adore the writing style, and it is easy to read and it flows so well. Therefore, I am hoping that with this type of writing style I will be able to whisk through the book and be absorbed in the lives of Willem, Jude, Malcolm and JB in no time at all.

Now I want to ask you guys whether you have read this book – and if so, how did you find it? Was it good? Bad? I want to hear from you.
If you have not read it however, are you planning to?

Well, that is all I have to say for now!

See you guys on the next post,

Nielle xx

Would You Rather: Paperback vs Hardback

I have decided to create another post about books and their format, here is the previous one that I made before – but this time it’s between paperbacks and hardbacks instead of hardcopy and e-book.

So, just like before… I would like to ask book lovers like me out there whether they would rather buy the hardback version of the book or the paperback version.

Continue reading