Currently Reading | Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit

Hello lovely readers,

It’s a rare occasion where I actually have had the time to read and even write a blog post – I hope that soon I will be able to do this a little bit more regularly in the following weeks. For now, it will be sporadic.

Anyhow, I have finally come out of my reading slump that has lasted me a third of the year – I just now realised I have been telling people that I have had a reading slump for a six months which is completely inaccurate, and the book the I am reading is Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavrial Savit.

Synopsis:

November the sixth, 1939 – Anna’s seventh year – and all Anna knew that morning was her father had to go away for a few hours. 

He left her in the care of Herr Doktor Fuchsmann shortly after eleven o’clock, and then he did not come back again. 

When the Germans take her father, Anna is suddenly alone.

Then she meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, and like Anna’s missing father, he has a gift for languages.

With a million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs, Krakow no longer feels like home. And so Anna and the Swallow Man travel together, dodging bombs, taming soldiers and even, in spite of their better judgement, making a friend.

But in a world gone mad
everything can prove dangerous…

I have been loving this book so far, albeit I have become a slow reader as of late, I have managed to read half of the book in three hours. In that span of time, the book has managed to pull at every single one of my heartstrings, and I have cried twice for Anna.

As you have read from the synopsis, this story is set during the Second World War and you can just imagine what this little girl must be going through. Although the novel is written in third person, you still see things through a child’s eye.

I find Gavriel Savit’s writing enticing and very engaging, and the truth behind his words just pulls you in to this world he has created.

This book has been on my wish list since last year, and when they released the paperback version I didn’t even hesitate to buy it. Of course, it’s been sitting on my bookshelf for quite sometime collecting dust, but I am so glad that I finally took the time to read this book!

What are you guys currently reading?

 

Leave a Reply

