Book Haul | April 2017

Hello my lovely readers,

This is a blog post that I have not done in the past few months! Due to book buying ban and all that shenanigans. But I finally caved in and bought a “few” books that I thought I should buy – but definitely wont read until I am seventy-years-old!

In all seriousness, I have been really good in preventing myself from buying any books – in fact for a few weeks I haven’t even thought of buying books at all. But then… my colleagues from work – or ex-colleagues, were kind enough to gift me with a £50.00 Waterstone’s voucher!!!! I was so shocked and so grateful for this parting gift that they have given me!! But… let me tell you a secret. I actually haven’t used up the voucher yet. In fact I only bought one book using the voucher, the rest of the haul is from my own funds!

Through the Woods

Through the Woods

A graphic novel by Emily Carroll. This is the book that I purchased using the gift voucher that I got! It’s one of the best purchases I have made this year, and I think I am in love with the art style. It contains 5 short, eerie and creepy short stories!! Look out for a book review in the next week or so!

“Come take a walk in the woods and see what awaits you there…”

From the macabre imagination of award-winning comic creator Emily Carroll, five mysterious and chilling stories which follow journeys into (and out of?( the eerie abyss.

Buy This Book | Amazon | Book Depository


Nimona

Nimona

After getting my first taste of reading a graphic novel, I just couldn’t sit around and not have more. Thank god for Amazon (and Amazon Prime), because I managed to get Nimona £2 cheaper than the original price, and with Amazon Prime I got it the next day! Whoop! Whoop!

NIMONA
is an impulsive young shapeshifter with a knack for villainy.

LORD BALLISTER BLACKHEART
is a villain with a vendetta.

As sidekick and supervillain, Nimona and Lord Blackheart
are about to wreak some serious havoc. Their mission:
prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin and
his buddies at the Institution of Law Enforcement and
Heroics aren’t the heroes everyone thinks they are.

NEMESIS!
DRAGONS!
SCIENCE!
SYMBOLISM!

All these and more await in this brilliantly subversive,
sharply irreverent epic from NOELLE STEVENSON,
based on her award-winning web comic.

Buy this Book | Amazon | Book Depository


Gemina

Gemina

I have been wanting to buy this book since the moment it was announced! However, I just haven’t had the funds to actually buy it, nor had I the time to read it. But I took the plunge this week and just bought it.

If you are already familiar with Illuminae, then I am sure that you guys know how brilliantly laid out this book was/is. I cannot wait to read it and continue where we left off in Illuminae!!!!

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was
always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life.
Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

Hanne is the captain’s pampered daughter. Nik is the
reluctant member of a notorious crime family. while the
pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the Jump
Station Heimdall, little do they know that Kady Grant and
the Hypatia are headed right towards them carrying news
of the Kerenza invasion.

Hanne and Nike are thrown together to defend their home.
but alien predators are picking off the station residents one
by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means
the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before
dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own
survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia – and possibly
the known universe – is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Gemina raises the stakes of the Illminae Files, hurling
readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them
breathless.

Buy this Book | Amazon | Book Depository


Wayfarer

Wayfarer

After reading the eARC that I received from NetGalley, quite a while ago – I have taken it upon myself to purchase the book this month! Need I say more?! (here’s a cheeky link to my book review)

 

The Bombs that Brought Us Together

The Bombs that Brought us Together

We Come Apart introduced me to Brian Conaghan, and when I saw this book in Tesco’s (you know with their 2 for £7 deals) I just couldn’t help myself and bought it. I haven’t read it yet (surprise, surprise) but the synopsis of the novel did spark an interest in me – so I look forward to reading it!

As Old as Time

As Old as Time

I am still a bit hungover from Beauty and the Beast – can we just talk about how amazing and wonderful the whole film was! Emma Watson as Belle…. perfection! Anyhow.. I bought this book because, it was 2 for £7, so why the heck not!

 

Anna and the Swallow Man

Anna and the Swallow Man

This book has been one that I have been eyeing for, literally 2 years. I don’t know why it took me this long to buy it… but hey! I finally bought it. Granted I would have rather bought the hardback version… but I don’t have that much money (haha, you’ve got a voucher you idiot!).

Island

Island

They had stock left from World Book Day, so I just thought I’ll buy one! So here it is. I’ve been getting into reading a lot of short stories as of late, and I thought it would be perfect for when I have a few minutes when I am not doing anything at Uni to have a little book to read. SO… yeap.

The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give

I have heard a lot of great things about this book, since I was going to spend money on books anyway this month I just went for it.


This has been quite a long post, and I am not sorry about it at all.

We are already in May, but I have been wanting to upload this post for some weeks now – but school has been a bit hectic recently.

Thanks for reading this blog post!

-Jhan xx

 

 

One thought on “Book Haul | April 2017

  1. Pingback: Graphic Novels | Flipping Through the Pages

Leave a Reply

