Mini Book Review | The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

the-little-prince

Moral allegory and spiritual autobiography, The Little Prince is the most translated book in the French language. With a timeless charm it tells the story of a little boy who leaves the safety of his own tiny planet to travel the universe, learning the vagaries of adult behaviour through a series of extraordinary encounters. His personal odyssey culminates in a voyage to Earth and further adventures.

When I first heard of The Little Prince I expected it to be a cute little children’s story that has a moral story to it. But, I didn’t expect it to affect me as much as it did. It is great for children, as it is imaginative, and wonderful. But, it is also great for the older reader – because it teaches us about the value of perception.

I think the best part about The Little Prince is that it can be relative to the reader. You can apply it to as many things as you want, and all subject to what the reader believes it is about. For me, it is about perception and the importance of valuing companionship and relations to others. It’s about rediscovering who you are as a person, and not what society has defined you to be.

It taught me to live in the moment, and to stop quantifying things that doesn’t need to be quantified (time spent with people) and to just live in the moment. I felt that each of the characters, teaches you how to value what you have.

It’s such a precious book, and I don’t know why it took me such a long time to finally read it.

Leave a Reply

