Tag | Rapid Fire Book Tag

Rapid Fire Book Tag copy.png

Who doesn’t love a good book tag?! It’s been such a long time since I have participated in any sort of tag at all. I have forgotten how fun they are! I would like to thank icebreaker694 for tagging me to do this Book Tag!

EBOOKS OR PHYSICAL BOOKS?

I am definitely more a physical book kind of reader. As convenient and easy ebooks are to have around, it just seems that it takes me longer to read the book.

As weird as it sounds, I kind of like flicking through the pages, and smelling the books. It’s also a bit more personal, I feel than that of an ebook.

PAPERBACK OR HARDBACK?

Either one is great. Paperbacks are just easier to have and are cheaper to buy. But, I also like hardback because their covers are just oh so lovely! However, they are so expensive and quite heavy to have in your bag, if you’re a reader like me who doesn’t leave the house without a book.

ONLINE OR IN-STORE BOOK SHOPPING?

Both! I love buying books online and in-store. What I often do is order or reserve a book online and make the trip to the local store to collect it. There’s always a promo online which I can redeem even though I pay for the book in-store. Which is amazing! Also, I just love walking around the bookshop and touching all the books I could buy, but wont because I don’t have the money.

Online shopping is convenient, especially if you’re looking for a bargain – and if you don’t have a bookstore nearby. But, I love shopping in-store too. Because who doesn’t like being surrounded by books.

TRILOGIES OR SERIES?

Trilogies. Sometimes, if the series is too long I tend to lose interest.

HEROES OR VILLAINS

Honestly. Either, really. I’m more partial towards some of the minor characters at times.

A BOOK YOU WANT EVERYONE TO READ

51nln7yvmnl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

Everyone who reads my blog will probably be sick of seeing The Night Circus all the time! But, GUYS READ IT!!!!

RECOMMEND AN UNDERRATED BOOK

img_0049I think Em Bailey’s two novels are quite underrated, I really enjoyed them and they are well written books with great characters and interesting plots! Go check her novels, Shift and The Special Ones out!

THE LAST BOOK YOU FINISHED?

the-yellow-wallpaper-and-other-stories

I just finished reading The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. It is a collection of short stories by the author, who is an activist of women’s rights. I really think that this is a brilliant collection of stories that just depicts how women were/are treated, and how we too can overcome the way we are treated. I highly recommend this!

WEIRDEST THING YOU USED AS A BOOKMARK

I don’t really know what counts as weird anymore. I used to use my phone, or another book as bookmarks before. Is that weird? I don’t know.

USED BOOK, YES OR NO?

Yes! But… Looking around my room…the majority of my books are new and bought from Waterstone’s. But, I am all for used books. They are cheaper, and charity shops are great places to find amazing deals. I managed to get The Girl of the Train at a local charity shop for £1.25 and it’s the hardback edition! I’ve also got the habit of buying some of the classics in charity shops!

TOP THREE FAVOURITE GENRE

  1. Fantasy
  2. Contemporary
  3. Thriller

BORROW OR BUY?

…Buy. I think I may be a snob when it comes to borrowing books – but, I never really borrowed books before. I mean I have borrowed some books from the library, but I didn’t, and don’t like the fact that I don’t get to take my time in reading a book and that I have to give it back.

I like having a copy of the books I read. Whether I liked them or not. It’s just me.

CHARACTERS OR PLOT?

Can I have both? But if I had to choose… Plot. You can have great characters, but when the plot is shit… it just doesn’t go well with me.

LONG OR SHORT BOOK?

I enjoy reading long books, but I would rather read shorter books.

LONG OR SHORT CHAPTERS

Definitely short chapters.

NAME THE FIRST THREE BOOKS YOU THINK OF

Wayfarer, The Hobbit and Of Mice and Men

BOOKS THAT MAKE YOU LAUGH OR CRY?

I would choose books that make me cry. Because the feels and the heart break… I don’t know why I do this to myself if I am honest. But, I do love a book that makes me laugh!

OUR WORLD OR FICTIONAL WORLDS

Fictional worlds, especially fantasy ones… you know, like the Shire and Hogwarts.

AUDIOBOOKS: YES OR NO

NO! I don’t know why but I can’t seem to concentrate on the book if I am listening to it. I can’t absorb the information at all. I like being able to see the words printed across the pages. But, I have nothing against audiobooks, I think they’re great especially for people who may not have the time to actually sit down and read.

DO YOU EVER JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER?

Yes… am I proud of it? NO!

BOOK TO MOVIE OR BOOK TO TV ADAPTATION?

Hmmm… If I had my way, I really would rather a book to TV adaptation. So that they don’t have to cut crucial scenes from the book! They have all the time in the world to make the book into a multi-episode TV show!

But, there are books that are better as films.

SERIES OR STANDALONE

Standalone!


I am tagging the following bloggers!

Jess / Inês  / Cari / Jam

Feel free to do the tag if you want!!!

Leave a Reply

