Monthly Wrap-Up | January 2017

Hello my lovely readers,

It has been a great start to the year!

It’s that time of the month again, where I try to sum up everything that happened in my life in a single post! Of course, I am talking about our Monthly Wrap-Up. I won’t be faffing around, and ranting… so I’ll just get on with it!

Book Buying Ban

It has been approximately 6 weeks since my book buying ban has been put in place. This has been quite hard for me, since I love buying books. It has been very difficult avoiding the book sections in supermarkets, and the bookshops themselves in these recent weeks.

I found myself holding onto books that I want to buy, but I always manage to put them back in their rightful places on the shelves. My self-control has been tested. I even tried avoiding the online shops, especially the kindle store – because low prices are very tempting. As you could probably imagine.

However, I did very well and I have not spent a single penny on any books for the last 6 weeks. I am quite proud of myself really.

What did help me survive these long agonising months is investing my time reading as much as I can, and also saving up the money I would normally buy books with. Also, I have started placing money on a jar for when I really want to buy a book. I often just put a pound for every time I almost buy a book, or for every time I even think of buying a book.

I am going to be doing this ban for the majority of the year, or until I have managed to get me TBR pile at a manageable pile.

Reading Challenges

At the beginning of the year, I have made the decision to participate in several reading challenges. The Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge, The Goodreads Reading Challenge, and the Pages Read Challenge. The reason why I joined these specific challenges, is simply because I wanted to read as much as I possibly can this year. I have a list of more than 50 books that needs to be read, and I can’t just not read them for another year.

It’s clear that this year I won’t exactly be buying newly released novels, unless I can get the TBR pile sorted first! Apart from these official challenges, I am also challenging myself to read more Classic novels and adult novels.

As much as I love my YA novels, they are starting to get redundant. I need some fresh air, and new things to look forward to. So, I am basically challenging myself to try and read genres I am not completely familiar with.

Anyway, I thought I would add some statistics of my reading challenges here!

The Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge:

The Little Prince, The One Memory of Flora Banks, The Special Ones, Under Rose-Tainted Skies, The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories, Zenn Diagram

The Goodreads Reading Challenge

6 out of 75 book read

Pages Read

1,380 pages out of 24,000

As you can probably tell, it seems like I am quite behind with my reading. At this rate, I don’t think I can even read 24,000 pages of text! But, I am persevering this year and making sure that I will get all of my reading challenges done. I have even made a book to record my progress, and added several Reading Statistics page in my reading journal.

Books Read This Month

  • The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr
    This has been one of the best YA novels I have read! It is simply magnificent and I couldn’t have read a better novel to start my year off!
    This novel is about a girl, Flora Banks, who suffers from anterograde amnesia. The novel is written in her point of view, and it’s definitely the best way this novel could have been written. You are sucked into Flora’s brain, and everything that she is experiencing is also what you are experiencing as a reader. As repetitive as it gets, I think it just builds up the tension even more, and projects what Flora must be feeling!
  • The Special Ones by Em Bailey
    Em Bailey’s second novel, easily one of my favourite reads thus far. It’s quite creepy, and definitely a psychological thriller. It’s about this group known as the Special Ones who are basically the ‘gods’ of a cult made by a psychopath who kidnaps and brainwash these children/teenagers into believing that they are the reincarnation of 4 individuals who were known as The Special Ones. It definitely has a big-brother-esque kind of feel to it.
  • Under Rose-Tainted Skies by Louise Gornall
    A novel about a teenager who suffers from agoraphobia, and a collection of other mental health issues (OCD, Panic disorders and anxiety). It is very much like Everything, everything – but there is a massive difference between SCID and agoraphobia. I thought it’s great that the author gives an honest and a fairly realist portrayal of an individual who suffers from agoraphobia. And this one I can and will recommend that you guys read!
  • Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant
    The most shippable couple I have ever encountered. Eva and Zenn are just too good to be true, and too wonderful to be real people. Quite an interesting novel, with a semi-predictable plot-twist, but still a great debut novel!
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint Exupéry
    I have heard so much about The Little Prince, and I have heard it mentioned several times in the novels I have been reading. After watching the Netflix animated film of The Little Prince I have decided that I shall read the novella. I don’t think I have ever read anything like it before. It felt like on of those books which appears to be written for children, but in actuality it is targeted more towards older readers. Yes, it tells you a tale of a Little Prince who comes from another planet, and his adventures hence. But it is also about so many things… more importantly, it is about valuing time we have with people, rather than trivial things like counting how many things we own, etc. I am so conflicted with this, but it was also quite philosophical! (I am no longer making any sense, it’s half-past ten in the evening – it’s way past my bed-time)
  • The Yellow Wallpaper and Other Stories by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
    I have no idea what made me buy this book, but I am glad that I did. These stories are written from a feminist perspective, which offers food for thought about the social, economic and personal relationships between men and women. These are such brilliant works, that I think everyone should at least read once. Just to give you perspective, and something to think about. To compare with how society works today, and how it used to be back then.
3 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up | January 2017

Leave a Reply

