Book Review | The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

cover100467-medium

Rating |

5-stars

Pages| 320 pages

Genre| YA, Contemporary, Coming of Age, Mental Health

Publisher| Penguin

Publication| 12 January, 2017

Format| eARC

You always remember your first kiss.

Flora remembers nothing else…

“I look at my hands. One of them says ‘Flora, be brave’. I am Flora.”

Flora has anterograde amnesia. She can’t remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is.

Then she kisses someone she shouldn’t have kissed – and the next day she remembers it. The first time she’s remembered anything since she was ten.

But the boy is gone.

Desperate to hold onto the memory, she sets off to the Arctic to find him.

Why can she remember Drake? Could he be the key to everything else she’s forgotten?

**Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through Net Galley in exchange for an honest review – I would also like to thank Net Galley and Penguin Group for providing me this eARC

The One Memory of Flora Banks tells the story of seventeen-year-old, Flora Banks who has anterograde amnesia – which means she lacks short term memory and therefore cannot remember anything that happens in her day-to-day life after she’s ten-years-old. That is, until she kisses a boy and she remembers it.

I have to give it to Emily Barr for coming up with a plot like this! It is brilliant, new and simply unique. From the summary, I was ready to assume a lot of things – and I got myself ready for your average YA romantic novel where the damsel in distress is going to be saved by a knight-in-shining-armour. However, I was pleasantly surprised as to how the things turned out!

Love them, hate them – it doesn’t matter because these characters all play a vital role in the novel!

Flora Banks is the 17-year-old girl with anterograde amnesia. She is the most unique individual I have read about for a long while, and the best character I have read for the New Year! She is brave and impulsive – and I love how she is like this!

She is the friendliest person I have encountered, and even with her condition, she was brave enough to travel to the end of the world just to retrieve her lost memory.

Of course, at first I was sceptical about this book. I mean, our heroine fell in love and is in pursuit of said love interest in the hope to cure her memory. However, there is a massive plot twist that I did not see coming. It isn’t about romance or teen angst and all this typical YA tropes. No.

It is about finding your true self, being brave, and discovering what the whole world has to offer.

The story is written in Flora’s perspective. An effective way of ensnaring the reader into the mind of our protagonist. It is frustrating to re-read the same thing over, and over – But! It is effective. You get to be Flora, you are Flora.

I know that it is way too early to tell, but I believe that The One Memory of Flora Banks will be in my Top Three favourite novels of the year 2017, purely because of how wonderfully written it is, and how completely unique the plot is.

Therefore, if you are looking for a fresh new voice in the YA contemporary genre – then I highly recommend this novel to you!

 

Leave a Reply

