2016 End of Year Survey

Hello lovely readers!

It is almost the end of 2016 and aren’t we glad to just leave it all behind. Let’s be honest, in terms of everything, it hasn’t been the greatest year we have witnessed. A lot of sh*t happened, and let’s hope that 2017 will bode a better year for everyone!

One of the few things that did happen this year are the wonderful books that we get to read!

I saw this post from the wonderful blog of Jess @ mudandstars, and thought it was a fabulous idea! This survey was originally posted by The Perpetual Page Turner – so if you are reading this right now… I suggest you go and take a look and browse their blogs!

*Disclaimer, the graphics used for Headings are created by The Perpetual Page Turner

 

 

Number Of Books You Read: 59
Number of Re-Reads: 2
Genre You Read The Most From: YA contemporary

 

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

51nLN7yvmnL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

I have been going on about this book being the best one I have read this whole year, because it freaking is! No questions asked, it is the best book I have read all year! It was just so magical and I was blown away at how wonderfully written it was. I want more books from Morgenstern!

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

51hr3wsrkrl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I finally bought the book this year, and I was quite excited to read it. What with all the social media hype that it got from fellow bloggers and bookstagrammers. But, I was a little bit underwhelmed with how the events took place, and with the predictable plot twist. So, I was a little disappointed – but I did still enjoy the book.

 

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?  

51lzwhj2u-l-_sx323_bo1204203200_

The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich definitely wins this one.

I have already been blown away by Kurtagich’s work with The Dead House and I was ready to be horrified and be amazed by her second novel! It delivered, and the plot twist and the development of the story definitely took me by surprise!

This… this is how you write a novel! Read and Learn!!!!!!

 

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

515smpb0ryl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

I wrote a book review for this harrowing novel several months back, and I remember saying that I cannot recommend this book without giving you warning for how much it can break your heart, and with all the triggers that it has.

But, it was also a book that I recommended a lot to my friends to read. The sheer size of the novel is quite daunting, and it did take me a whole month to finish the book. And my friend who did read the novel, as per my recommendation, had the exact same reaction I did. It’s heavy on the heart and it will make you cry!

 

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best Series Started in 2016:

51fXPLYZYlL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Although this is only a duology, it is still the best series that I started reading this year. I thought that it was quite original, and I just fell in-love with the characters!

Best Sequel of 2016:

514zNMacJjL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

I am not much of a series kind of person. I like stand alone novels because they don’t end in cliffhangers, and I cannot stand them!

But, Holly Bourne is amazing that her The Spinster Club Series is nothing of the sort! Each story can be read individually and as a stand alone. You don’t have to have prior contact with the first book etc. to follow the story of the next books in the series!

And, I just loved Amber soooooo much in this one.

Best Series Ender of 2016:

What’s a girl gotta do? and …And A Happy New Year by Holly Bourne

It’s simply the most wonderful ending to the Trilogy! With the epilogue too. I highly recommend this series to anyone who can read, and especially if you want to really know more about what true feminism is about!

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

I am going to cheat on this one, because I found myself two wonderful authors whose works I love!

I can’t wait for their new books to come out!!!!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

515smpb0ryl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

I don’t typically read Contemporary Fiction that is not in YA. This, as I have said was a harrowing novel, and my heart felt so heavy whilst I was reading it. Yanagihara is such a wonderful author, and her writing style is so unique, in the way that she makes you feel exactly what the characters are feeling!

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

51rjej8r1jl-_sx323_bo1204203200_

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Probably the only novel that I read in one night! I couldn’t put the book down, and it was such an unexpected novel! I have heard about the book, but it wasn’t like any other books I have come across. It’s phenomenal! The plot twists!

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

I know that it asks for just one book… but, Passenger and Rebel of the Sands will release their sequel this year – so I will most likely be re-reading these two because I want to remind myself of what has happened!

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

IMG_6817Dear Nobody by Berlie Doherty

This book cover is so simple, and I love simple covers. Just look how pretty it is, minimalistic and just plain wonderful!

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

61guqyj17pl-_sx394_bo1204203200_A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

For me, the most memorable character of 2016 would be Connor O’Maley – he broke my heart, and it’s just sad what he was going through. And he reminds me very much of a friend, and what she was going through a couple of years back.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

51nln7yvmnl-_sx325_bo1204203200_

I am going to throw this one out there again. Because it was simply breathtaking. Morgenstern is an amazing author, and she wrote this wonderful novel so beautifully!

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

wp-1454608955568.jpgReasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig

It isn’t the most-thought provoking, per se. Nor is it life changing. But it does give you some perspective. Just reading this book gives you just as what the title suggests, Reasons to Stay Alive – and for me, I think that it is just a good book to read when you’re not feeling the best of best.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? 

Solitaire.jpg

Solitaire by Alice Oseman

I don’t know how I managed to overlook this wonderfully diverse novel!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

He was greedy and rude and bitter, but he was still a healer. The parson, though, what was he? He was nothing. Belief is half of all healing. Belief in the cure, belief in the future that awaits. And here was a man who lived in belief, but who sacrificed it at the first challenge, right when he needed it most. He believed selfishly and fearfully. And it took the lives of his daughters.

This is a passage from A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, and there are many things that I liked about this book – but, it is when the Monster tells us his stories that I loved the most. This is a passage from his second story about “a man punished for his selfishness” and he tells it the way it is.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

atttgc-cover

A Time To Tour Ghost City by Anjum Noor Choudhury – 48 pages

515smpb0ryl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara – 720 pages

 

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

pass

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

I’m not much into pairing people together – and I know that most people have their own OTPs and that they will go down with that ship. But I just really can’t think of one!

Well, apart from Nick+Charlie from Solitaire…

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

img_0056

Definitely the sisterly bond between the Fossil sisters in Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild!

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

41L3Zwi7QGL._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

After reading More Than This, I was already hooked by his writing! What I really enjoyed about this novel is that is focuses on the people who are not the main characters, per se, of Sci-Fi/Fantasy novels. Where nothing extraordinary happens, and everything is as normal as it can get!

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

31zPw4QP35L._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_Faceless by Alyssa Sheinmel

I easily succumb to peer pressure when it comes to book buying and reading, and Faceless is probably one of the books that I found myself being pulled into upon reading several book reviews. It was a wonderful read, and I really did love Maisie and how honest she was with her situation and circumstances.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

pass

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

61gbGcxDesL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

hollow cityI’ll have to give this one to Ransom Rigg’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children trilogy! I quite liked the time-traveller-esque route that it took, and I did enjoy the different settings!

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

81hgWxrQ-rL

I loved this! The spells were quite interesting, and they definitely made me laugh. It was a really fun read as well!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

I am quite the emotional reader, so… really I cry at everything within a book – but these are the Top Three!

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

81rIfnSWDPL

I am pretty sure that this is probably one of the greatest short stories I have read this year. It’s original, and seriously creepy in its own way. Definitely would recommend reading it! Also, I may have to buy novels by Marcus Sedgwick from now on!

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

515smpb0ryl-_sx328_bo1204203200_

I feel like I keep repeating myself – but these are my opinions and I am answering them truthfully!

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

51MVFXjT3eL

For me, this was the most unique book I have read this year. I loved it, and I was surprised to learn about Leo as well – and I think this is a great book for anyone to read!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

51hr3wsrkrl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

It was more on the disappointed side – I mean there was so much hype about this book and how amazing it was… but all in all, I was mad with how it ended, and the plot-twist too. But it doesn’t mean I didn’t like the book. Actually, I did quite enjoy reading it!

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

Pretty Books and Lucy @ Queen of Contemporary

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

Pass

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Pass

I rarely consider any of my writing as good – so, I will leave this blank

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

The YALC event that I went to this summer! It was the best!

I got to meet some of my most favourite and admired authors!!! It was a great day! I would like to go again this year, but knowing me – I will definitely have to save up some moulah!!!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

I think just being to blog about my love for books is the best moment of my bookish life!

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Blogging:

As much as I love writing, sometimes I don’t feel quite inspired enough to actually create a post. But when I want to do some discussion posts – I am too scared that no-on will participate and it will just be there… waiting to be discussed.

Often, I am cynical with my ability to write and communicate with the audience. I am not the best person in terms of starting conversations! But I do try.

Schedules too. I simply do not have the time to write an article! I will try my best to write at least 4 post a month from now on – but that isn’t enough as I am fully aware!

Reading:

Again timing issues, and with my TBR pile growing – I just want to ignore it and focus on my job. But, that means I get stressed out again!

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

Well, my most popular post this year are:

Blogger Recognition Award and my Book Review of Peter Pan.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

I wish most of my post got a little more love, but I am happy enough that a small amount of people have read them!

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Maximum Pop! Books and Bookstr – quite lovely sites if you asked me. A lot of bookish related posts and articles – and you can’t forget about the quizzes!

Then, there’s also The Book People!

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I did in-fact complete my Goodreads 2016 Reading Challenge, and went over the reading count by 3 books. So I was really happy about that!

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

I know it says one book specifically, but I really want to read these three books, so they are on my priority list!

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Pass

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

I am hoping to do a lot of things in 2017, but the most important thing is that I will be able to read the majority of my existing TBR pile before the end of April so that I can restock and buy more books!

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

I don’t think I have actually written a book review for novels that are coming out This year! But, I do have one coming up! So please look out for that one!

 

 

4 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Survey

  1. Great choices! I’m so happy to see some love for the Spinster Club trilogy, I love that series so much. I still need to read the novella though. A Little Life sounds brilliant, I really need to read it this year, and The Night Circus too, which I bought like a year ago and haven’t read yet :O It’s a high priority on my TBR this year though, and you’ve just reminded me how excited I am to read it. If you’re looking to read some more Marcus Sedgwick, Midwinter Blood was strange and creepy and I loved it. And alsooo, I’m glad you had fun at YALC! I went last year and the year before, and I definitely want to go again this summer – such an amazing event. What were your highlights from YALC?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank You! The Spinster Club is just a fantastic trilogy, and I cannot begin to explain how much I have learned from the three novels about feminism! It’s always great to be informed and gain knowledge when reading a book 😊. You have to read the novella, in my opinion – it’s a great way to end the series.
      Ahhh, A Little Life broke my heart into smithereens! So be prepared!!! As for The Night Circus… all I can say is that it’s magical!

      I will definitely look Midwinter Blood, after reading his short story Killing the Dead and The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich I have been looking for more YA horror novels, that are sure to scare and creep me out. (None of this supernatural malarkey for me… 😬 unless the plot is intriguing)!

      It was my first time going to YALC last year, and also the first time I went to London on my own (accompanied by my younger brother and his girlfriend). The highlight of my experience is getting to meet Holly Bourne and a number of other authors. It was just so lovely getting to meet all of these wonderful authors whom I admire! I am hoping that I will be able to go again this year (I have to pass my driving test first though 😂)
      What about yours, would really love to hear about it!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aww, I do oddly love books that break my heart into little pieces, but I’ll definitely stock up on tissues before I check this one out! I’m on the lookout for more YA horror too, creepy books are my favourite kind. If you’ve discovered any good ones, I’m always on the lookout for recommendations 🙂 Ahh I’m so glad you had such a great time at YALC, and that’s awesome that you got to meet Holly. I think my highlight was meeting Sophie Kinsella, as she’s one of my favourite authors of all time. But in general I just loved being surrounded by all these authors, discovering loads of new books, and going to all the amazing panels. I especially loved the panel with Holly Bourne, Sara Barnard, and Sara Manning.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Analytics for our Christadelphian websites – 2016 – Belgian Ecclesia Brussel – Leuven

Leave a Reply

