Ramblings | Goals for 2017

Hello lovely readers,

Another year has gone by, and we are yet again entering a new year with high hopes of it being better than that of the year we are leaving behind.

I am wishing everyone who is reading this a Happy and Prosperous New Year!

As how most new year’s go – it has become a weird tradition for us to make a “New Year’s Resolution” list. A ridiculous custom, that we write or make every year only not to completely fulfil. As much as I want to stray from this so called tradition, I am still going to make one – but this time, I will make it a goal rather than something I want to change about my attitude!

For the year of 2017, I have five main goals that I want to set for myself:

1. Tackle my extensive TBR pile before buying any more books!

I have counted my TBR pile and there are more than 50 books in said pile. There is a whole bookshelf dedicated to my pile, and it’s so shameful to have this many books displayed and I have not even read them. Therefore I have made it my goal to finish half of this pile by the end of April… Otherwise I will have to set a book buying ban that lasts a year!

2. Read at least 4 books in a month!

This goes hand in hand with my first goal. I am going to make myself read as many books I can in a duration of a month so that I can be done with the pile I have accumulated for myself.

3. Expand your reading horizon – read mother genres of books apart from YA!

I want to be able to read more books in general fiction, and not just YA – because right now, I am becoming less and less inspired to read books in the YA section as they all seem to be about the same thing over and over. I think I just need a break from the whole teen angst going on. I might venture on to the world of Adult Fiction and Non-Fiction! Or maybe stick to the classics!

4. Buy a book, read 2 in exchange

This is something that I read somewhere, and I cannot remember where! But, it’s a good idea! If you buy a book (which will most likely happen) you have to read two books in exchange so that your TBR pile doesn’t just keep on growing and growing!

5. Just Read

I miss being able to read whenever I can! So it’s my goal to just read – no matter how busy I become this year I need to allocate some time for my reading otherwise my brain and this book blog will suffer all of the consequences!

These are my main (bookish) goals for the New Year, and I am hoping to be able to achieve them! It’s going to be a hectic and ridiculous year, I can just tell by how I am now – and I know that nothing much is going to change. But, I do want to set goals for myself to keep me motivated throughout the year!

As for general life goals:

  1. I need to start acting like a responsible adult, and less like a child!
  2. learn how to balance my work and social life
  3. Be more active in the book blog universe!
  4. Be a little more happy…

That is all from me, and I hope everyone has had a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Feel free to leave a comment below, because I would really love to know what your 2017 goals are!

One thought on “Ramblings | Goals for 2017

  1. Pingback: 2017 Alphabet Soup Reading Challenge | Nielle Reads Books

Leave a Reply

