Book Review | The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich

51LZwHJ2u-L._SX323_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Rating
5-stars

Pages | 400 pages

Genre | YA, Horror, Psychological Thriller, Contemporary

Publisher | Orion Children’s Book

Publication | July 2016

Format | Paperback

There’s a man in the trees,
a man with no eyes, but still he watches,
that’s the surprise. Stay away from the woods,
it couldn’t be clearer, but the trees are creeping
nearer and nearer…

Beware the creeper man.

When sisters Silla and Nori escape London and their abusive father, Aunt Cath’s country house feels like a safe haven. But slowly, ever so slowly, things begin to unravel. Aunt Cath locks herself in the attic and spends day and night pacing. Every day the forbidden surrounding forest inches slowly towards the house. A mysterious boy appears, offering friendship. And Nori claims that a man watches them from the dark forest – a man with no eyes, who creeps ever closer…

The moment you enter Python Woods, you will never leave. For the man with no eyes, will not let you leave. The Creeper Man is a wonderfully written psychological thriller, that has a creepy claustrophobic setting that will not let you go.

First of all, I want to talk about the plot of this book. Much like Dawn Kutagich’s debut novel, The Dead House, this novel tells a tale so complex it is a wonder how the author was able to put it into words. It is so complex, with so many unexpected twists and turns – that you are simply unable to guess what is going to happen next. But with the plot’s complexity, Kurtagich was still able to make it simple to understand. It is simply fantastic!

As for the characters, they are nothing but real. Kurtagich doesn’t go into a long winded detailed description of her characters. She says it straight to the point, and the image is there. But what really fleshed out these characters for me were their voices.

Gowan, the mysterious boy, is just that. He is mysterious in every sense of the word. Then there is little Nori, with her crooked arm and her silent chatter. My heart broke for her, I loved her the way Silla loved her. I felt like I knew her, and I wanted so much to make everything okay for her. And Silla, I felt her rage and her anger. She is a strong girl, but she can only manage so much pain. Then there’s the madness.

I do have to admit that I am not a massive fan of horror, but I ever since I have read The Dead House, I have become more inclined to read books that are creepy, scary or psychologically thrilling – and The Creeper Man is just the book for that.

The story is written in the first person, and I think this is where Dawn Kurtagich has succeeded in projecting the emotions of the characters. The rage that Silla felt, and the madness that was Aunt Cath, and the fear and claustrophobia that the setting is able to emulate.

The addition of the Broken Book Entry makes it that bit more of a personal experience. Not only does it  show Silla’s thoughts, but it also convey how unreliable she is as a narrator.

I found this novel eerie, creepy and sinister. As much as I wanted to read it in one go, I avoided reading it at night time – what with the vivid images that would appear in my head heightening my paranoia. That is the kind of book The Creeper Man is.

Reading this book is a roller coaster of emotions, in which I spent the whole time reading this novel confused and slowly succumbing to the madness eating the characters alive. I was terrified of the Creeper Man, and I was an emotional wreck by the end of the book.

However, this isn’t just a book about the horrors that is The Creeper Man. This books is about forgiving yourself, and learning to accept the harsh realities of life, and understanding that we are our own worst enemy.

Overall, this is a wonderful book that I highly recommend to everyone who is reading this book review, right now.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review | The Creeper Man by Dawn Kurtagich

Leave a Reply

