Film Review | Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (2016)

 

I was so very excited when I heard that Ransom Riggs’ novel Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was going to be made into a film, and to top it all of it was going to be directed by one of my favourite directors of all time – Tim Burton.

We can all agree that Tim Burton is an amazing director and has a knack for creating gothic films, such as: Edward Scissorhands, Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, The Corpse Bride, etc…

When I finally got the chance to watch the film last week, I am sad to say that I was disappointed. I had such high expectations for the film adaptation, and was hoping that Tim Burton will bring to life the Trilogy I have come to adore. I was expecting to be blown out of my mind, and to be creeped out by the Hollowgasts and be afraid of the Wights… But I was not.

Everything about the film was different from the books – Emma Bloom and Olive’s powers has been switched – the age of the children have changed… The characters are all different. I was so frustrated while watching the film and had to hold my tongue from saying anything at all whilst I was in the cinema. I was disappointed. The whole film deviates so much from the books – and it all felt too rushed! The whole Trilogy was cramped into one single film.

Leave a Reply

