Book Review | Improbables by Jonathan Charles Bruce

Improbables.jpgImprobables by Jonathan Charles Bruce

Publisher: Scarlet River Press, June 2016

Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy, New Adult, Supernatural

Pages: 334 pages

LinksAmazon || Goodreads

4-5-stars

Synopsis:

Abigail Wren’s life fresh out of college is dull, even with her (almost) dream job at the local newspaper. The only real excitement she can get is found between the pages of an endless stream of paranormal romance novels she can’t help but love.

Then, on a snowy night in December, Abigail catches a glimpse of what could only be described as a werewolf. Enamored with the possibility, her investigation leads her to discover a paranormal population—improbables—living harmoniously in the midst of humanity. Between making eyes at a perpetually grumpy werewolf and hanging out with a vampire with a lust for life (and liquor), Abigail’s life takes a shaky step out of the ordinary and into the fantastic.

Just outside of the sleepy town of Whitewater, however, a force of rage is building. Born of hate and delusion, a living cataclysm threatens to devour everyone in its path—human or improbable.

*I was provided a review copy of the novel by the author, Jonathan Charles Bruce, and his team in exchange for an honest review.

It has been so long since the last time I have read a novel that included vampires and werewolves, which is part of the reason why I have accepted to review Improbables – and I have to admit that I am glad that I agreed to read this novel! I did find myself enjoying this book more than I thought I would – probably because it felt a little bit more realistic (?! I don’t know how I can explain this point!!). It was also a refreshing read as it is written in the third person – which is a format I feel like I have lacked in my reading as of late.

I loved reading the novel, especially with characters as witty (and awkward) as Abigail, I found myself constantly laughing at the things that transpire in the book. Bruce created three-dimensional characters, who are living and breathing and not some two-dimensional wishy-washy stereotype.

The book also takes on a parodical twist on the paranormal romance tropes – it is simply fantastic, as to how Bruce managed to write a novel with creatures-of-the-night and write it in a way that engages the reader, allowing them to relate to the characters’ feelings and point of views. It doesn’t take on a YA Paranormal Romance, where the most important aspect of the novel seems to be the love triangle! Furthermore, this book isn’t just about romance, or the paranormal, or the heroine saving the day – it discusses more pressing matters than the main character’s love interest. No, it talks about what is going on in our society today – from cyberbullying to sexism, to racism. I think it is important for any book to be able to address these social issues – no matter the genre, in a way it is making people aware of the things that are going on around them. So, I appreciate this aspect of the novel.

Overall, I think that Improbables is a great novel and I truly enjoyed reading Abigail and her Improbables friends’ stories. If you are looking for a novel in the paranormal genre, I highly recommend that you pick up Improbables by Jonathan Charles Bruce as it is a fantastic story that isn’t only about the romance!

 

 

Leave a Reply

