Book Review | A Time To Tour Ghost City by Anjum Noor Choudhury

atttgc-cover

Buy the Book | Amazon

Anjum Noor Choudhury | Goodreads

General Information

Title | A Time to Tour Ghost City

Author | Anjum Noor Choudhury

Genre | Fiction

Publisher | Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing

Publication Date | 23 August, 2016

Rating | 3.5/5


Synopsis

A young woman on vacation with her parents discovers she can see ghosts in the Stone City of the Crescent Valley. When her parents are taken hostage by a rogue tour guide, she must mediate with one of the ghosts to get them back. But ghosts are the least of her problems in this perilous adventure that takes her back thousands of years, to a time when the Valley flourished with life and a legendary Brotherhood roamed its sands.

Book Review

**I would like to thank the author, Anjum Noor Choudhury, for providing me a free copy of her novel in exchange of an honest review.

I have given this novel a 3.5 stars

The plot of the story was very interesting, and I wouldn’t say I have read a lot of novels with which time travel is involved. It was fast paced and it did kind of reminded me of Aladdin.

The characters were not as wholesome as I had hoped they would be, although it might be expected as it is after all a short story – and is therefor I would like to thank the author, Anjum Noor Choudhury, for providing me a free copy of her novel in exchange of an honest review.

I have given this novel a 3.5 stars

The plot of the story was very interesting, and I wouldn’t say I have read a lot of novels with which time travel is involved. It was fast paced and it did kind of reminded me of Aladdin.

The characters were not as wholesome as I had hoped they would be, although it might be expected as it is after all a short story – and is therefore limited. But I simply did not connect with neither of the two main. However, I did find some of their interactions to be quite amusing and found myself giggling.

Leela is able to see ghost, and Altaf is desperate to severe his link with the people he works for, and in this he kidnaps the parents of the girl he may or may not genuinely like in the hope to find the hidden treasure in the pyramids with the help of Leela’s unusual gift. There was no real chemistry between these characters – it was more like pent up sexual frustration and desperation to escape from their situations, Altaf from his line of work and Leela from the predicament she is faced with being kidnapped and all. But nevertheless, I did enjoy their exchanges and found them quite amusing more often than not.

I think the best thing about this novel is the world building. Choundhury did a great job in allowing the reader to experience the setting of the story – and I really enjoyed this aspect of the novella!

Overall, I think the author did a good job in creating the setting and allowing the reader to experience Arabia in its present state and its former.

Leave a Reply

