Monthly Wrap-Up | August 2016

Hello lovely readers,

I feel like I may have redeemed myself this month in terms of last month’s reading slump – I actually manage to read more than 2 books this month! In this post, I want to catch you guys up with what is happening with my life outside of my books, while also talking about the books that I have read this month (as well as the books that I have bought this month!)

Non-book related catch up!

I am very sorry if this post is going to be long!

For my 19th my family and I ended up going up to Ashford International to do some shopping at the outlet – and I got some clothes, good food (Wagamama) and also a great bargain with the Mortal Instrument series at The Works.

I bought the book set  The Mortal Instruments for only £12.00 – and that is a massive bargain! I finally caved in and decided to give the series a go, and to see for myself what the fuss was all about, so I look forward to reading the whole series soon. (I might make next month a Cassandra Clare month and just binge on her books, as I am aware that she has quite a number of book series out there).

There was that.

In terms of other life events… A-Level results day was a great day for me! I was so happy and it was the first time in a while that I believed in myself. I got my A in AS Sociology and I finally have my C in A-Level Mathematics. It was one of the best days of my life and I still feel brilliant about it.

Other good news includes the fact that I am going to start my new job soon, and I can’t wait to start. There’s also the fact that I may finally be going to University, after taking a two year gap year. Everything seems to be looking up from here. I just hope that I am not jinxing it in the process.

An update on my driving… I am still an appalling driver, but I am improving – I just need a little bit more practice (however, it is quite hard when you don’t have a care to practice on, and the fact that none of my family members know how to drive) – but hopefully I will be able to pass my driving exam on October!

Bookish August Wrap-Up!

In terms of my reading, I have managed to actually read 8 books! This is a victory for me, considering the month before I didn’t even finish a single book.

IMG_6812

I am adding You Know Me Well by Nina LaCour & David Levithan in this wrap-up because I can, and I did finish reading it on the First of August.

It is a story about two teenagers who wouldn’t have normally been friends, but under certain circumstances they became the best of friends – and it turns out they know each other well even though they have only been friends for a week.

It’s a story about friendship and love, of insecurities and of finding confidence on who you really are.

It was a lovely book to read, and it inspired me to be who I really am and ignore what people have to say about me. It’s all about accepting yourself and being confident in your own skin.

Solitaire by Alice Oseman was an interesting read. I definitely found Tori Spring a relatable character, with her pessimism and her overall introverted personality – but I also found her quite annoying at times. Michael Holden on the other hand, is the complete opposite of Tori and although it says in the cover that this novel is not a love story… it so is! Everything about Solitaire all relates to a love story, and I am not even angry about it.

I enjoyed everything about this book and I wouldn’t change anything about it. Nick and Charlie for instance, theirs is the best love story out there.

 

20160802_131821[1]

The book that divided the Harry Potter fandom: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

I, for one, enjoyed reading this book. It gave me a sense of nostalgia and it made me miss the Wizarding world so much more. But I was satisfied with what I was presented with.

I loved all of the characters, especially Scorpius Malfoy! What a lovely boy (dare I say that I liked him more than Albus Potter). It was just so lovely to return to the Harry Potter universe, and as I understand it the play is so much better than the book – and I want to go see it badly!!!!

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

I simply couldn’t resist myself from rereading the noels again. I have read the first book earlier this year and I thought, after reading the Cursed Child that I now I have to read the rest of the series again!

Hence, why the second book of the series is in the list of novels I have read this month. I have to say that I also forgot that the writing on the novels are so tiny and even though the novel isn’t that long, I would have to say that it took me quite a while to read the novel (like a full week)

I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books though because why not – I miss the wizarding world and no one can stop me from doing so!

IMG_6802

What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne was an inspiring read and also very educational. It gave me a better understanding of what feminism is truly about.

Lottie is such a wonderful character, and I love how strong and stubborn she is and how she will do everything in her power to change the world.

It was also very relatable in the sense that I can understand the stress she was under, especially with her dream to become prime minister and then there’s also the matter of sexism that she wants to change.

I highly recommend this novel to anyone and everyone!

img_0056Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild – can we just first of all appreciate how beautiful the book is!

The story itself is heart-warming. It is about three sisters and their time in theatre and dancing – of their quest to help their guardian with paying the bills and for food on the table.

This is a book that I would like to read to my children, the Fossil sisters in my opinion for the most part of the novel are excellent role models for children, and I really enjoyed Streatfeild’s writing style.

416W70mXKIL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

A novel about a girl with anxiety, and her road to recovery. I thought that this book was a really good read, it wasn’t that long and it was interesting.

I liked that the format of the book kind of changes between Audrey simply talking about what is happening, to the transcript of the videos that she takes for her project.

I quite enjoyed reading the book, and it often made me laugh. As I understand it, this is Kinsella’s only YA novel – and I think she did a great job in writing it!

 

 Steel Victory by J.L. Gribble was a book I was sent in exchange of a review.

I was surprised by how much I really enjoyed this novel. This book is set in an alternate history where the Roman Empire never fell and is now fighting against the British Empire – not only this but it is also set in a dystopian future, in the aftermath of a Nuclear War. There are also Vampires, Were-creatures, Elves and Mages – along with normal human beings.

It sounds all over the place, but the novel is actually very well put together, and it was interesting to read.

 

The Gift-Knight’s Quest by Dylan Madeley

Another novel that has been sent to me by the author in exchange of an honest review.

I really liked the world building in this novel, and how detailed everything was. I liked the fact that every single character had their own back stories, and that we are introduced to them throughout the novel.

However, the problem that I had with the novel was that I got confused between POVs and between the flashbacks and the present time.


Thank you for sticking around till the end!

this has been such a long post, but it has also been the most I have read for a while!

Starting next week I am going to be super busy again, however, I do hope that I will still have the time to read my books!

I will see you in the next post!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

