Book Review | The Gift-Knight’s Quest by Dylan Madeley

The Gift-Knight's Quest by [Madeley, Dylan]

Amazon | Buy the book

Title: The Gift-Knight’s Quest
Author: Dylan Madeley
Published by: Matador (Troubador Publishing Ltd)
Publication date: 26 March 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Historical
Format: eBook
Source: Review copy from the author/publisher

*I would like to thank the author, Dylan Madeley, for entrusting me with his work and in giving me the chance to give an honest review of his novel The Gift-Knight’s Quest

The Gift-Knight’s Quest is about a young woman named Chandra and her suspicious succession of the throne after the untimely demise of her Father the King and the Queen. So, she must find out the truth behind the late Queen’s death and the reason behind her father’s death, before the ones responsible get to her. Then there’s the gift-knight, Derek, who has been summoned by an official letter to become the new Queen’s personal guard. This, however, made him very suspicious of the real agenda given the centuries old feud between his family, the Wencyeks, and the Kenderley’s who were responsible for the ruine of their once-noble family lineage.

The book is very well-written, Madeley is a very talented writer and I love the fact that he put considerable amount of attention to detail. Since, this is also the first book of a trilogy, it is clear that he is setting up the scene for the reader – hence there is a large amount of world building in this book.

Another thing that I really enjoyed about the book is all of the plotting going on in the courts, and the politics were very interesting for me. Recently I have been intrigued by the workings of politics in real life, and it was interesting reading a fictional universe and how their politics and government work.

Each of his characters are well developed and well written, with substance and realistic attributes. I think that Dylan Madeley did an excellent job in portraying his character , the fact that each of his characters has a back story made them easier to understand, and it has helped me connect with the characters themselves.

Although, I do have to admit that it took me quite some time to get into reading the book as I found the beginning quite slow. Also, there were instances where I was confused as to which character’s point of view I was reading from – but ones I got used to the tone of the voices of each character it did made the transition between P.O.V’s much easier. Furthermore, the way Dylan Madeley interwove the past with the present kind of confused me a little bit, as it was kind of hard to distinguish between the narrative of the past to the present time narrative – nevertheless, it was really great of the author to have included the history of the world he has imagined.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading the book, even more so Dylan Madeley’s writing style and his attention to detail. I can’t say that I have read a lot of fantasy novels set in a sort of medieval period, because I have not – but I have read a lot of about British history and the middle ages, and I would have to say that Dylan Madeley is brilliant in depicting the workings of the parliament and the Royal families of back then, the conspiracies to overthrow the current monarch – it is simply like reading a history book for me and that is something that I have enjoyed experiencing.

This is an impressive debut novel, and I would highly recommend it to any fantasy lovers out there!

Overall rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟


You can find out more about the Author, Dylan Madeley on these following sites:

Author’s Website / Goodreads Page

Leave a Reply

