Book Review | What’s A Girl Gotta Do? by Holly Bourne

41zb5mBh0JL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

Buy This Book | Amazon

  • Pages: 432
  • Publisher: Usborne
  • Format: Paperback
  • Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance

Synopsis

HOW TO START A FEMINIST REVOLUTION:

1. Call out anything that is unfair on one gender

2. Don’t call out the same thing twice (so you can sleep and breathe)

3. Always try to keep it funny

4. Don’t let anything slide. Even when you start to break…

Lottie’s determined to change the world with her #Vagilante vlog. Shame the trolls have other ideas…

Hello lovely readers,

On today’s Book Review, I am reviewing the new novel of Holly Bourne What’s a Girl Gotta Do? which is also the last book of her trilogy The Normal Series (a.k.a. The Spinster Club).

I loved reading this book and in my opinion is the most fun out of all of the three books, because the girls get up to all sorts of crazy shenanigans and I had so much fun just following along their adventures.

This book follows Lottie’s story and her journey to making a difference in the world, and whose dream is to be Prime Minister in the future. In this books, she starts this online campaign (known as the Vagilante Project) to call out every instances of sexism in their day to day life, for a whole month.

This campaign alone is such an interesting concept, and it gives the book a whole different feel to it – I mean a campaign that involves air horns and cream pies?! It is simply amazing how someone is able to do this for a whole month, and it is a very risky project. The project also brings into light things we see and witness on a daily basis and we have been so used to them that we don’t really realise that actually these may be forms of sexism. It has become a norm for our society, that we have simply accepted them as part of our values and cultures.

I love Lottie’s character so much, because she is the complete opposite of me. The fact that she is not afraid to speak her mind out is simply inspirational. I liked how she questions her actions as well, why she is a feminist, why people are doing what they are doing, and why there is a need for feminist in the world. The fact that she is aware of the reasons for her being a feminist is important, as it highlights that she is doing it for herself and for the future generations of women. This also applies to pretty much everything we decide to do in our lives.

Throughout the series, I have learnt a lot from the girls and about feminism – and before, I would not have called myself a feminist (much like Will) and would have just said that everyone should simply be treated equally, but certainly these books did teach me more about feminism and actually made me understand a bit more about the cause and simply not what I see social media and the news.

So, if you are thinking of reading this book – then I do highly recommend the series. I loved and enjoyed my time reading What’s a Girl Gotta Do? and the other books of the series, and I think it is worth reading – especially for teenagers (not just girls, but also teenaged boys) as I have learned a lot of things in the process.

Overall rating:⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Leave a Reply

