YALC

Hey guys!

I don’t really know where to start with this blog post, it has been so long since the last time I wrote anything down on this blog and I am feeling quite nervous doing this again. But, I do want to give blogging another try and hopefully be able to do it full-time this time around.

YALC

Saturday 30 July, 2016 – It was the first time that I have ever gone to London on my own without parental supervision, this time around I was the adult chaperoning two minors (my brother and his girlfriend – both attended the LFCC) and it was scary and daunting, but it was also amazing and wonderful and exciting!

I got to meet wonderful authors and was able to see that there are a lot of people out there who are as in love with books as I am. I couldn’t bring myself to speak to anyone, which was sad, but it was also amazing being around hundreds of people who share the same passion as I do.

It was a dream come true for me to be able to meet one of my favourite authors of all time – Holly Bourne, and she was so lovely and amazing! Not only that but I got to speak to her even for a couple of minutes. I also got to me Alwyn Hamilton, Lauren James and Alice Oseman and they were all so awesome and wonderful people!

There were any stalls to go to, and so many books to buy – so many panels that I didn’t get to attend and workshops that I missed. Authors that I didn’t get to meet and people whom I didn’t had the courage to speak to. I was anxious and scared, but excited and thrilled all at the same time.

I wasn’t fully prepared for the event, but hopefully next year I will be able to be more sociable and that I am going to be able to attend all of the days! It was so amazing being there and I would say that it has been the highlight of my Summer.

One regret that I have is that I didn’t get to meet all of the author’s that I wanted to meet, which is my fault as I was poorly organised, and I was all over the place. I also wish that I took a lot of photos for you guys to see, but I didn’t really take photos and it’s ridiculous. But, next year – I will try

Tips

  1. Bring someone with you, because when you are in there and you are like me who is afraid to make friends with people, you may feel a little lost. Also, it’s useful to have someone to help you carry all the books that you will be buying.
  2. Carry cash with you, although there are card machines in the stalls, especially in the Waterstone’s pop-up shop, it’s useful to have cash in hand so that you can just hand it over to the people in charge.
  3. Be prepared to stand in line, the lines for popular authors are ridiculously long – and I have to tell you that one of the reasons that I only managed to meet 4 authors is due to the fact that I wasn’t prepared for the massive lines.
  4. If you really want to meet authors, you’re best bet is to sit at their line as soon as possible, even if it means missing their panels.
  5. Bring food with you, I made the mistake of leaving buying food until lunch time – because although there are places where you can buy food on the venue, they are crazy expensive (IMO) and the Tesco across the road literally didn’t have any food left!
  6. Plan ahead

 

 

Leave a Reply

