Book Haul | June 2016

Hello my lovely readers,

First week of July is already over and we have entered its second week… how crazy is that?! I still think that we are in March or April, but we are already more than halfway through the year, and time is flying by so fast!

Well, today I taught it would be the best time to do a post of my June book haul – because I bought a ridiculous amount of books in my opinion, I spent money that I did not have and I just did not care at all.

I haven’t uploaded much content either – and I have been on a reading slump – I mean I am almost half-way through a book and I just stopped reading it. Last month has been terrible in terms of the number of books I have read. So, I tried boosting my morale by buying books – but it didn’t really help. It just caused me to want to hit my head on the wall because now my TBR pile has increased again! ASDFGHJKL

giphy (5)

Oh well. I just hope that I will be able to get through every single book by the end of this year, and actually do a book review of every single one of them. Especially as I have finished with school and I am finally free from all of my school work… which is a lie, because I have a 3 week course that I applied to (which I kind of regret doing, but not at the same time as it is work experience) and… I am rambling. Moving on!

Let’s get on with the books I have bought this month, but most likely will not be reading until much, much later on in the year! I bought a mix of books from Children’s to YA, as well as some General Fiction and a book of philosophy.

Buy this Book | Amazon

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog.
Las year I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do.
And I don’t care about Michael Holden.
I really don’t.

After reading Radio Silence by Alice Oseman, I just had to get her debut novel! I loved the way she wrote and her the plot and characters were brilliant that I felt emotional attachment to them – and when I like the way an author writes, I will be more likely to buy their other works.

But the Book | Amazon

The Vorrh  is a vast – perhaps endless- forest, sentient and magical, a place of demons and angels, of warriors and priest. Legend holds that the Garden of Eden still exists at its heart. Now a renegade foreign soldier intends to be the first human to traverse its expanse. Fact and fiction blend, the hunter will become the hunted, and humanity’s fate will hang in the balance.

There are times when I like to read general fiction and not just YA novels – and it has been a while since the last time I picked up a novel that is not aimed towards Young Adults. So, I was browsing around Waterstone’s and happen upon The Vorrh by Brian Catling.

The first thing that caught my attention was the book cover – then the synopsis compelled me to buy the book and read it in a later date.

Buy this Book | Amazon

Grace and Tippi don’t like being stared and sneered at, but they’re used to it. They’re conjoined twins – united in blood and bone.

What they want is to be looked at in turn, like they truly are two people. They want real friends. And what about love?

But a heart-wrenching decision lies ahead for Tippi and Grace. One that could change their lives more than they ever asked for…

I have heard a lot of good things about this book, about how heart breaking and a truly beautiful story it is. Also, this novel is part of my YALC reading challenge – where I read the novels of authors who’s going to be on the Saturday of YALC.

But, reading the synopsis – I am intrigued in Tippi and Grace’s story, and truly I want to know what happens to these sisters.

Buy this Book | Amazon

I’m Norah, and my life happens within the walls of my house, where I live with my mom, and this evil overlord called Agoraphobia.

Everything’s under control. It’s not rosy – I’m not going to win any prizes for Most Exciting Life or anything, but at least I’m safe from the outside world, right?

Wrong. This new boy, Luke, just moved in next door, and suddenly staying safe isn’t enough. If I don’t take rists, how will I ever get out – or let anyone in?

I just bought this book today, and I was curious as to how Norah tackles her agoraphobia – but more importantly, how the author portrays someone with agoraphobia. Most of the stand alone YA novels that I own tackles mental health issues, and in all honesty, reading all these books are the only way I can understand them in terms of how they truly affect people who has certain mental health issues – and it makes me want to understand more how people with mental health issues are being handled by society.

I guess, what I am trying to say is – I want to see how the author portrays society and the individual in her novel.

Mark and Kate

have been sitting next to each other for an entire year, but have never spoken. Until one fateful night, when their lives collide. Kate is running away from a chance of meeting the girl she has loved from afar, while Mark is in love with his best friend, Ryan, who may or may not love him back.
They are both lost, and finding each other is the last thing on their minds.

But they don’t realise just how important they will become to each other – and how, together, they will navigate the joys and heartaches of first love, one truth at a time.

I am a curious reader, and I like picking up books that I have no idea what the story is about – I picked up this book because of the fact that it is co-written by David Levithan, and also the fact that it has been everywhere recently on bookstagram (and also a part of my YALC reading list). But after upon reading the synopsis of the novel, I am curious as to what is going to happen to Mark and Kate.

Hopefully I will be able to read all of this by the time I am on the YALC and I am just so looking forward to it!

416W70mXKIL._SX320_BO1,204,203,200_

Buy this Book | Amazon

Audrey can’t leave the house. She can’t even
take off her dark glasses inside the house.

Then her brother’s friend Linus stumbles
into her life. With his smile and his
funny notes, he starts to entice Audrey
out again – well, Starbucks is a start.

Laugh, dream and hope with Audrey as
she learns that even when you feel like you
have lost yourself, love can still find you…

This is going to be my first ever Sophie Kinsella novel, and I have heard many great things about this particular YA novel – so I am giving it a go and read it! I quite like how bright the cover is as well, it suits the weather at the moment as we – in the Southeast of England, are currently experiencing wonderful weather!

Buy this Book | Amazon

A BOY WITH
EXTRAORDINATY POWERS.
______________________

AN ARMY OF DEADLY MONSTERS.
______________________

AN EPIC BATTLE FOR THE
FUTURE OF PECULIARDOM.

The adventure that began with Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and continued with Hollow City comes to a thrilling conclusion with Library of Souls. As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he’s driving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children.

They’ll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil’s Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It’s a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all. Like its predecessors, Library of Souls blends thrilling fantasy with never-before-published vintage photography to create a one-of-a-kind reading experience.

I now have read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and Hollow City, both novels I have enjoyed very much. I would have bought this novel long before now, but the first two books I had on paperback, and when it comes to a series/trilogy I like my books to have all the same format. It was only recently that the paperback version of the Library of Souls have been released, and when I saw the copies in Waterstone’s I literally just took it with complete disregard of the fact that I may not have had the money to spare for the book.

Buy this Book | Amazon

Pauline, Petrova and Posy Fossil are sisters – all three
adopted as babies by Great Uncle Matthew, an eccentric
and rich explorer … who disappears, leaving then in the
care of his niece, Sylvia.

The girls grow up in comfort and wealth until their
money runs out. Things look bleak until they hit on an
inspire idea: Pauline, Petrova and Posy will take to
the stage. But it’s not long before the Fossils learn that
there’s more to being a star than they thought.

I have been curious about this novel for quite a long time now, and  I believe that it has also been adapted into a feature film in 2007. I haven’t really heard much about this novel at all, but I from doing a little bit of research it has some great reviews, and has been published in 1936 – so I guess that is probably why I don’t really see much of this novel.

Nevertheless, I am looking forward to reading this novel!

But this Book | Amazon

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the fantasy lands her father once mapped. When he best friend disappears, she’s determined to be part of the search party. Guided by an ancient map and her knowledge of the stars, Isabella navigates the island’s dangerous Forgotten Territories. But beneath the dry rivers and dead forests, a fiery myth is stirring from its sleep…

I am not going to lie, the cover is what truly caught my attention and the margins of the pages as well. But, the story sounds very interesting nonetheless, especially as it is related to maps and astrology, as well as the fact that it mentions myths – I mean who doesn’t like reading myths?

Buy this Book | Amazon

I’m Dan Hope, and deep inside my head I keep a list of things I want to come true.

For example, I want my sister, Ninja Grace, to go to university at the North Pole and only come back once a year.

I want to help Sherlock Holmes solve his most daring mystery yet. And if it could be a zombie mystery, all the more exciting.

I want to be the first eleven-year-old to land on the moon.

I want my dog to stop eating the planets and throwing them up on the carpet.

And finally, the biggest dream of all, I want my dad to love me.

My first thought about when I looked at the synopsis of this book was “I want to know why his father doesn’t love him” and that is something that I have yet to find out. I have started reading this book, and I have to admit it captures how an eleven-year-old would think, and the way the narrative goes suits the voice of the Daniel.

Buy this Book | Amazon

Plato’s retelling of the discourses between Socrates and his friends on such subjects as love and desire, truth and illusion, spiritual transcendence and the qualities of a good ruler profoundly affected the ways in which we view human relationships, society, leadership – and shaped the whole tradition of Western philosophy.

What can I say, I have to have something that relates to Philosophy, and who else could I possibly choose but Plato!

Buy this Book | Amazon

When Dr Watson ends up renting rooms in Baker Street with the eccentric Sherlock Holmes he finds that he has let himself in for a great deal more than he imagined. He is called upon to help the budding detective solve a perplexing mystery, involving a dead body found in a locked room. Although the corpse shows no signs of having been attacked Holmes is convinced that a murder has been committed. As Watson looks on, he uses his exceptional powers of deduction to unravel a case that involves both kidnapping and thwarted love.

Because I have been wanting to read all of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s work for years now and I have finally decided that this year is the year that I will begin my quest in collecting all of his literary works! So, I started with this edition of A Study in Scarlet which, I realise now may be the hardest edition to find because I cannot for the life of me find this edition on any bookshop near me! So online it is!!


So there’s all of the books that I have bought last month, and It is safe to say that I have spent more than £100 alone on books – my bank account isn’t happy, but I am happy!

Oh! and let me know if you have read any of the books I have listed, and what you thought of them on the comments section!

I hope you guys have a lovely day, and I shall see you on my next post.

  • – Nielle xx
Leave a Reply

