Unhauling of Books

There are just some things that I find really hard to do, and one of them is unhauling books. In fact, I have never ever thought that I will be removing books from my bookshelves at all, apart from reading the books. But there is always a first for everything.

I have decided to remove six books from my shelves –  5 books I have owned for quite some time now, but either never bothered reading them – or simply put them in my DNFR list. These books are:

  1. The Farm by Tom Rob Smith
  2. Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller
  3. The Version of Us by Laura Barnett
  4. By The River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept by Paulo Coelho
  5. The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce

Reasons for unhauling…

The Farm by Tom Rob Smith – I have had this novel for quite some time now, but I just never got into the plot of the book. I do wish that I was more invested in the novel, because the plot is quite intriguing. Maybe when my taste in books has changed into a more mature stage I will revisit this book, but for now – I have to say goodbye to it.

Our Endless Numbered Days by Claire Fuller – Similarly with The Farm, the story of the novel is intriguing, and I do want to read the whole of the story. However, I just can’t stay focused on the story itself – I find myself picking up the book and then putting it back down after a couple of pages. But, I again I do wish to revisit the novel again in the future – just not this time.

The Version of Us by Laura Barnett – I found this book interesting, but the fact that there are three different stories as to how the story went, I just couldn’t get my head around it. I even tried reading each version one by one, but to no avail I can’t seem to process what was going on in each version. I found that the novel itself is comprised to three novellas – and I guess I am not completely prepared for that. The premise of the book itself is quite interesting though, it explores the different ways one event could lead to – the what ifs of life, and that is something that the author does do well, being able to create three different stories as to how the same event could lead to. However, I know that I will not be reading this book in the future – sorry.

By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept by Paulo Coelho – Paulo Coelho is considered as one of the best authors of our time, and I do not disagree with that. I love The Alchemist and it’s one of my favourite novels – and the only book that I have by Coelho. Now, I bought this novel as it is written by Coelho, and I thought I should read more of his works. But the thing is, I wasn’t all that interested in the plot of the book, and just gave up on reading it after the first couple of chapters. I do feel like I should give it another chance, but at this point – I think it has to go as it is collecting a mountain of dust.

The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy by Rachel Joyce – I was never planning on reading this novel, I bought it because it was on sale and I though I would like the story. But I never really got around to it, and I have reached the point where I have lost interest in what story the book has to offer. So instead of collecting dust in my bookshelf, I will be removing it from its abode and will be giving it to a charity shop – where hopefully someone who is genuinely interested in the story will buy it and read it for themselves.

Plan of Action

I have been thinking of simply giving them to charity shops, as it is the easiest way of unhauling books in my opinion. I would sell them online, but with the cost of postage I feel like I will be cheating people. So the best course of action would simply be to donate them to either charity shops or the library.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Unhauling of Books

Leave a Reply

