Monthly Wrap-Up | May 2016

Hello!

Not a lot happened this month, and I feel like I have abandoned my blog for most of May and I feel terrible for doing so. I have been busy with exams and other things, and I am not like other book bloggers who are able to juggle revision with writing reviews or blog posts, and reading books. Otherwise I would be very distracted from my exams and would have most likely ended up writing an essay about the books I have read, instead of why Marxists believe that the education system is an Ideological State Apparatus that transmits the capitalist ideology of the ruling classes, ensuring that the working class are able to be exploited in their later life as they begin to work ( I am so sorry! I just finished all of my AS Sociology exams and my brain is swimming with sociological theories and I need some kind of outlet). But yes, that is what I have been up to recently.

I also started taking driving lessons, about two weeks ago – and bloody hell, I am a shit driver. No kidding, I can’t effing steer the car! I am a hazard to society. But, my driving instructor believes that there is hope for me, and that this morning we will be working on my steering. So good luck to me, ha ha ha… -sigh-

new-girl-gif-sad-sigh-compliment-insecure

In terms of all things book related, I am going to YALC this year! I am so excited for that… I mean I thought I wasn’t going to be able to go because the dates clashes with a summer programme that I am attending – but when I saw the schedule for Saturday I just couldn’t not go! So, I said f*** it and booked a ticket for Saturday. So, if any of you guys will be going to YALC on that date, and I hope I will get to meet you guys!

externally screaming.gif

As for the books that I have read this month – AMAZING!

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

For as long as Serafina can remember, she and her pa have lived secretly hidden in the basement of a grand old house surrounded by eerie dark forest.

Serafina knows that she must never let herself be seen but when children from the house start disappearing, only she an solve the mystery – one hat leads her into the very forest she has always been taught to fear.

A long forgotten legacy of a very old magic awaits her…

Although this is a middle grade novel, I still think that it is a brilliant read for older readers – it’s dark and mysterious and the premise of the story is overall very interesting. I really liked how it was written, and the plot of the story just gets better as you read along, for instance the author is great in keeping the identity of the man in the Black Cloak hidden throughout the novel until the very end when it was revealed – he was able to divert the suspicions across various characters – and I personally think that that is clever. I believe that this is a debut novel by Robert Beatty.

  • 4.5/5

How Hard Can Love Be? by Holly Bourne

I adore Holly Bourne’s work so much! I already made a review for this book, so if you want to check that out click here!

  • 4.5/5

Starstruck by Cyn Balog

Life isn’t easy for Gwendolyn “Dough” Reilly – her family is struggling with its small New Jersey bakery in a town full of millionaires and people at her school don’t seem to know she exists. When her long-distance boyfriend, Wish, moves back home after three years away, she’s nervous – she’s gained weight since they last saw each other, while wish was apparently morphed into a blond god. Convinced that Wish will dump her the minute he lays eyes on her, Dough puts off their reunion as long as she possibly can.

But something amazing happens when they finally meet: Wish looks at Dough as if she’s just as gorgeous as he is. He’s acting a little weird, though: he’s obsessed with the sun and freaked out by rain. The creepy new guy working with Dough at the bakery tells her that Wish’s tiny star tattoo marks him as a member of the Luminati, an ancient cult of astrologers who can manipulate the stars to improve their lives. Dough isn’t sure what to believe. Are Dough and Wish meant to be together – or are they star-crossed?

I didn’t particularly like the book that much. For me it felt like it is sending all the wrong messages to teens. The story itself is well written, and the supernatural aspect of the novel was interesting, and I would give it a good 4/5 rating just for that. However, I was left disappointed, I’m afraid.

Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Caddi and Rosie have always been inseparable. But that was before Suzanne.

Now Caddy wasn’t to be more than just the quiet one. She wants something to happen.

Suzanne is trying to escape her past and be someone different. Someone free.

But sometimes downward spirals have a momentum of their own.

And no one can break your heart like a best friend.

I was in love with this book, it’s one of a few books I owned that does not include a lot of romance. I think it might be the only novel that I have that is about friendship, and friendship alone. This novel made me want to go out there and improve my relationships with my friends, and I did envy the characters relationship with each other. It’s a remarkable tale, it is filled with sincerity and genuine emotions – with characters that will remain with you even after you’ve put it down and laid it on a shelf.


Well, that is all for now I believe.

I will hopefully be updating more soon as it is half term, and it two weeks’ time I believe that I will be finished with school!

I will see you guys in my next post, love you all!

Nielle xx

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up | May 2016

Leave a Reply

