Tags | This or That Book Tag

Hello!

I’ve been tagged by Emma Jane from The Book Crunch to do this tag, thank you for tagging me!

The Rules:

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda @ Tea and Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • Choose one of the options
  • Tag 10 other people to do this tag and spread the love!

Reading on the couch or the on the bed?

Bed – especially now that it’s summer and the sun stays up longer I get to read in the daylight without having to use artificial lighting!

Male main character or female main character?

I’m not really bothered, so long as the story is good and the characters are well written; the gender of the protagonist does not matter.

Sweet snacks or salty snack when reading?

I would have to go with salty snacks – but to be honest once I start reading I could go on for hours not snacking. Also, I don’t snack – my snacks are basically a full meals.

Trilogies or quartets?

It all depends on how the story progresses, sometimes trilogies are enough, sometimes some novels may need to be extended.

First-person point of view or third-person point of view?

Personally, I like reading in third-person point of view, I like being able to see the scope of things, and not just on an individual’s perspective. However, I also like reading first-person point of view books – because there’s also something very nice in being able to feel what the main character is feeling, places you in their shoes.

Reading at night or in the morning?

No preference what so ever! I like reading in the natural daylight, but I also like reading in the dark with a flashlight – one of the reasons why I now have a -3.50 (left eye) and -3.00 (right eye) vision, it never stopped me from doing it over and over again though.

Libraries or bookstores?

Bookstores all the way! I mean, libraries are great – and I would for there to be more libraries with actual books (because my local library is filled with lots of computers and too little books). However, I would choose a bookstore over a library anyday. I like owning my own books and not having to return it to the library because I do not own it.

I like to think that I am building my own library, which I will pass down to my children and their children’s children and so on and so forth!

Books that make you laugh or make you cry?

Books that make me cry, all the way! I am often in need of a good cry, and there’s nothing better than reading a book that makes me cry or weep or completely broken, because sometimes I just need a reason to cry (although I have plenty enough reasons, but you know book characters have so much more reasonable reasons as to why they should cry, and I shoulder that burden and cry for them when they do not)

Although, I do like to read books that makes me laugh too – but often times, these books also make me cry, so…

Black book covers or white book covers?

Looking at the majority of my bookcase, all of my books are pretty colourful. But between Black and White book covers, I think I will go for Black.

Character-driven or plot-driven stories?

A bit of a ridiculous question. I would rather have a book with both, thank you very much. I cannot enjoy a book with an amazing plot, but poorly executed characters or amazing characters, but no plot whatsoever. It would not be a story at all, these two elements must coexist with each other, and there has to be an equilibrium between them. Otherwise, what will the story become?


I won’t be tagging anyone today, so if you want to do this tag then feel free to do so 🙂

love you guys,

Nielle

Leave a Reply

