Blog Challenge | Playlists

24.04.16

Hello loveys,

I am fully aware that I am a day late with the blog challenge, and I don’t really have a valid excuse, but I am writing this anyway! I hope you stick around and enjoy.

Today’s prompt is making a list of songs or music that reminds me of books that I have read. Now, I find this prompt hard (even though I wrote it in the list) because one song can remind me of more than one book, or that I do not relate songs to some books. So, what I am going to be doing is looking through the music that I listen to all the time and see which books reminds me of which songs/music.

Please, please, please by The Smiths

This song is one of my absolute favourites, because even though it is such a short song the lyrics are strong and I just can’t help but relate to it so much, especially on bad days. This particular song reminds me of Being Billy by Phil Earle. It is one of the first books that I have read which do not have any supernatural or magical element to it. It’s one of the most realistic books that I have read about a teenager who has been in care for quite a while now along with his younger siblings. The song fits in so well with the book, since it is about a teenager who want to be given another chance at a good life, I believe that the song lyrics are actually the inscription in the book. Well, I think that it is a book that everyone should read.

Moonlight Sonata Mvt. 1 by Beethoven

This is such an emotional piece, and this song always reminds me of books that are based on historical fiction, specifically WWII – reason being when I watched the film called The Pianist it is one of the pieces that has been played in the movie, and I just found it such a fitting music, it felt heavy with emotion – and the film itself was so wonderful and the actors were great. I highly recommend you guys watch it! But it does remind me of The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

All of the Stars by Ed Sheeran

I think we all know which book this reminds me of… The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, and of course, it is by my favourite musician so too! But it is a fitting song for the film and the novel, don’t you think?

Strange Things Will Happen by Radio Dept

This song reminds me of All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – I am not exactly how it reminds me of the novel, but I think it has something to do with Finch. It all comes back to our main protagonist, as always with this novel.

Working Class Hero by John Lennon / Masters of War by Bob Dylan

These songs reminds me of two trilogies, and I think you can guess which ones I mean. But I’ll tell you anyway. Legend Trilogy by Marie Lu and The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins.

You can also probably guess as to why these particular songs reminds me of these novels. Working Class Hero highlights class differences and how it calls for something like a revolution, which both happens within the books. Whilst Masters of War clearly is a pacifist viewpoint of wars in general and how it affects the people who are caught in between wars. (I can’t explain very well! Argh!)

 

One thought on “Blog Challenge | Playlists

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-UP | nielle-reads-books

Leave a Reply

