Blog Challenge |Favourite Quotes

Here are a list of my favourite quotes. Most of these have been written by memory, whilst others I have had to copy from the books themselves (ones I have marked with post it notes). 

It does not do well to dwell on dreams and forget to love, remember that.

J.K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

It is inevitable that I will include a Harry Potter quote into this list – but you have got to admit that there are many wise words exchanged amongst characters within the book, and a lot of the quotes that I have in my favourites list of quotations are from the Harry Potter series.

It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting

Paulo Coelho – The Alchemist

This novel has been one of the best books I have read that inspired me to follow my dreams and to aspire to be someone who will one day inspire others to work hard as well. I was 16, and was about to do my final GCSE exams when my auntie gave me this book for my birthday – and I think that was the time when I sat down and took the time to revise and do mybest in everything that I did.

Not all those who wander are lost;

J.R.R. Tolkien – The Fellowship of the Ring

A quote that I feel has become more relevant to the way how my life has turned out!

Secrets have power. And that power deminishes when they are shared, so they are best kept and kept well. Sharing secrets, real secrets, important ones, with even one other person, will change them. Writing them down is worse, because who can tell how many eyes might see them inscribed on paper, no matter how careful you might be with it. So it’s really best to keep your secrets when you have them, for their own good, as well as yours.

Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus

A wonderfully long quote, which struck me the most as I was reading The Night Circus. The idea that secrets has power is something that rings true, I believe that a secret is best kept just as it is supposed to be.

To die will be an awfully big adventure

J.M. Barrie – Peter Pan

A quote that has helped me understand death, and accept its inevitability. However, lately I have been seeing another version of this Peter Pan quote “To live will be an awfully big adventure” the quote circulating at the moment goes. It is a good quote, emphasizing the importance of life, however it also removes the true meaning behind the words J.M. Barrie has stated in the children’s book.

In my opinion, the quote is suggesting that life is a big adventure in itself – however to die would be a whole other adventure. One where you do not know what will happen,

One thought on “Blog Challenge |Favourite Quotes

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-UP | nielle-reads-books

Leave a Reply

