Blog Challenge | First Sentences…

First sentences are important, a divisive way of catching a reader’s attention. Of course, I am not the best at writing first sentences – no matter how hard I try they come out generic and boring.

However, I have come across books where the first sentences has caught my attention –

No. 1 – The Grownup

By far my favourite first sentence

I didn’t stop giving hand jobs because I wasn’t good at it.

This is crude and completely an unexpected opening line for a short story, and it starts raising questions as to what kind of book you are reading.

It definitely woke me up, I’m surprise that I had to shut the book and check if any teachers were standing behind me as I read it 😂.

No. 2 – The Shock of The Fall

I should say that I am not a nice person.

A first sentence that I can completely identify with. No one is really a nice person, and I like how that this book started with our main character and narrator admitting that he isn’t a nice person.

No. 3 – All the Bright Places

Is today a good day to die?

This caught my attention instantly. It’s such a dark first sentence, it cuts right to the Chase and it made me think, and I actually made a mental list of why it’s a good day to die and why it isn’t.

Ultimately, it is a first sentence that makes you question something we never really think of. It’s a good first sentence and a memorable one, because it catches your attention and it does make you wonder about the question itself.


There are three first sentences that i thought we’re great or a good starting point of the books.

One thought on “Blog Challenge | First Sentences…

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-UP | nielle-reads-books

Leave a Reply

