Blog Challenge | A Book That Made Me Cry

12.04.16

Books have the ability to make us feel a lot of emotions – and there are some books out there that has the power to make even the most stoic individual cry.

I am quite an emotional individual when it comes to reading books. One minute I will be focused on reading a book the next thing you know I will be sniffling and crying in my corner as I read an emotional part of the book.

There are plenty of books that has made me cry and before I mention the book that I will be writing about in this blog post, let us list the honourable mentions shall we?

  1. The Fault in Our Stars
  2. Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
  3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
  4. All The Bright Places 
  5. Book Thief
  6. The Night Circus

These are the books, from the top of my head, that made me cry (it depends whether in happiness or sadness with the book and you may be able to guess which ones I mean)

But the ultimate book that has left me in tears and with raw emotion was…

…drum roll…

!!!

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

IMG_6559

I do not know how I am still a fully functioning human being after reading this amazing (albeit harrowing) novel by Miss Yanagihara. The story was beautifully crafted, and it follows the story of four friends from their Young Adult life through to their Adulthood at the ages of 50+. It is a story of friendship, of love and of abuse.

This book made me weep not only cry, but weep! 

Thinking about this book now, a couple months after reading it, I don’t think I will be able to pick up the book and read it for a second time. At least, not just yet. Reading a book like A Little Life needs mental and emotional preparation – that I know for sure.

Ciao!

Nielle xxx

 

One thought on “Blog Challenge | A Book That Made Me Cry

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-UP | nielle-reads-books

Leave a Reply

