Monthly Wrap-Up | March 2016 + Mini Book Reviews

A lovely day to be staying indoors and being a recluse from the outside world.

But, seriously – it is such a lovely day outside today. The sun is out and I can literally hear birds singing! Like where’s the rain and dreary weather England?!

Anyhow, today is the day that I will do my Monthly Wrap Up, because I forgot to do it last night! I have not written much book reviews lately so this will also serve as a Mini Book Review post.

Let us commence.

Untitled-1

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

img_20160307_143417.jpg

This has been such a wonderful read! It is a book about magic, a coming of age story and a love story for the dreamers out there. I am in-love with this book, and by far it is my favourite read of the year. I recieved this copy as a Christmas gift from a friend, and I wasn’t quite sure if I would like it at all – because often times when I am gifted a book I tend to not like them or they are not the genre I would go for.

But the thing about this book was it was so beautifully written and so very engaging that you cannot help but feel like you are a part of the story, an expectator of the Night Circus. A reveur who is dazzled and enchanted by the attractions, you can smell the bonfire smoke, the caramel, the sound of people walking, you can imagine the wonderful tents and their contents.

I just love it!

I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves magic!

Nora and Kettle by Lauren Nicole Taylor

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

81hgWxrQ-rL

I think we can all agree that Rainbow Rowell is one of the most talented and amazing YA authors out there. I love every single book that she has written, and I also really enjoyed reading Carry On. 

I actually wasn’t planning on buying the book at all, even though I love Rainbow Rowell and her writing style, I wasn’t sure whether I would like Carry On at all – since I couldn’t help but compare it to many aspects of the very much beloved Harry Potter series.

But, this books is actually quite lovely – and I loved everything about it! The spells I found hillarious because if you think about it it is basically what Harry Potter would be saying too if they cast their spells in English and not in Latin or other language. So it just made perfect sense. The book is quite funny, and it’s also very sweet – I mean I think Simon and Baz are now my favourite couple that Rowell has ever created!

So, all in all a recommended read, especially if you are a Rainbow Rowell Fan!

Very Good Lives by J.K. Rowling

51ffSMCSRUL._SX344_BO1,204,203,200_

An inspirational book – this is the commencement speech J.K. Rowling made at a Harvard Graduation in 2008.

I am in a position where I have expereinced a lot of failure at a young age of 18 – and sometimes when everything seems to be going the wrong way for you, it is hard to see the silver linings. But J.K. Rowling’s speech made me realise how important failure truly is in order for an individual to success.

I think that everyone should read this book, or even listen to her speech – because it is uplifting and will help you realise that failure isn’t the end of the line.

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

wp-1455534041110.jpg

I have had this book for more than two years, and only read it like last week!

All I can say is that it was a very insightful read, and I enjoyed reading it. It’s about a young man who has mental illness – and his journey to recovery, not full recovery but he’s getting there.

Recently I have been reading a lot of books that involves mental health issues, and it’s alway insightful and interesting to read about it. It just shows how we, as human beings, are coming to terms with the importance of mental illness and how they should be talked about.

This book is especially good to read as it is written by a Mental Health Nurse, so he knows what he is writing about – he has experienced working with people who has suffered from different mental illnesses and have first hand knowledge how hard it must be for the patients.

A recommended read!


 

Those are all the books that I have read this month.

Now, if you have read my previous posts – I have decided to make a blogging challenge for myself, and it’s basically what I will be doing for this month. Every day I will be posting a new content depending on what that day’s prompt is.

If you would like to join or at a lost of ideas as to what to blog about, then please feel free to use any of the prompts on my list:

april

Random Thoughts

Last month, I have not been a very active member of the book blogging community – as I have been preoccupied with real life (mainly work) and this month I am hoping that I will be able to do more things onmy blog because I really do enjoy writing contents and being able to know people have read some of the contents. Even a single view a day makes me really happy as a blogger.

I know for a fact that not many people visit my blog – but that’s okay because I enjoy writing and that is all that matters to me. That I am able to say my opinions and share many things that I enjoy.


Untitled-2 copy copy

I have also uploaded a March Book Haul last week, which features all the books that I have bought this month. And I have to say, I am a little bit ashamed to admit that I freaking spent more than £70.00 on books this month – I couldn’t stop myself from buying all of these books and I just wanted to cry when I realised that I now have a bookshelf with books I have yet to read!

But anyway… a Book Buying Ban has been placed in order by my little brother. In which everytime I buy a book I will have to pay him £5 for each book item that I purchase. So, that means that I won’t be spending money on books for the next month or so! Not until I finish reading all of the books on my TBR bookshelf!

At this rate, I will be able to exceed my GoodReads reading challenge of 55 books this year!

Well, that is all folks!

Nielle xx

 

Leave a Reply

