Book Haul | March

Hello people of the internet, bookworms, and bloggers!

We are coming to the end of the month and I thought I would start the end by showing you guys the books that I have bought this month!

Without further ado, we shall commence!

 

an overview of the books I have purchased this month!

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz mght be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, and there’s a magic0eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at the Watford Scool of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had ore on their mind than saving the world…

I have finally picked up this book from the bookstore, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised as to how much I enjoyed reading it! Especially the romance between Baz and Simon – dare I say, they are the cutest couple I have ever come across in YA fantasy novels!

The reason why I got two copies is simply because, I couldn’t pass up the chance to colour in my own cover, AND the second cover (white one) is also SIGNED and that just got me to spend money! It’s worth it though

  • `Kindered Spirits by Rainbow Rowel

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to ques outside her local cinea to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luka and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people, to have to pee into a collectable Star Wars cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someon who just might truly understand the way she feels.

  • Spot the Difference by Juno Dawson

Sometime beauty really is only skin-deep…

Avery has always suffered at the hands of bullies, so when she’s given a seemingly-miraculous opportunity to join her school’s ‘A-list’, she grabs at it with both hands.

But appearances can be decieving, and soon Avery’s not sure she likes this new version of herself.

And it’s only by overcoming her fears that she can learn the true meaning of beng comfortable in your own skin.

  • Killing the Dead by Marcus Sedgwick

Follow the dark, dark path
Into the dark, dark woods
To the dark, dark bridge
By the dark, dark water.

Linger.
Let the ghosts of heaven
tell their story.

Here are three books that I bought during World Book Day and they are all for ‘older readers’. I think that these books are excellent introductions to the authors and their work! I enjoyed reading these short stories, and am looking into buying some books by Juno Dawson and Marcus Sedgwick! 

Best of all, they are only a £1 each, so I didn’t spend much money on them!

hwm

How They Met and Other Stories by David Levithan

They met on a plane

At a coffee shop

In class

It was a set-up

It was completely random

They were dancing

It was love at first sight

It took time

It was a disaster

A collection of stories about love from the New York Times bestselling author of Every Day.

After having heard such wonderful things about the works of David Levithan and after reading Every Day, I took it upon myself and decided to buy more of his works! I definitely want to read Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist since I really enjoyed the film adaptation, I would definitely want to read the book too. I look forward to reading the stories within this book!

51XBFu1hQSL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

The Thing About Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin

Suzy doesn’t speak anymore. Not since her best friend, Franny, drowned. Suzy can’t believe it – Franny was an excellent swimmer. She must have been stung by a deadly jellyfish. It’s the only explanation. And Suzy is going to prove it.

So she retreats into silence, researching the jellyfish and formulating a plan that will take her across the world to discover the truth about the creature’s she’s certain took her best friend away from her.

This was a book i picked up randomly, you know one of those books you never planned on buying but ended up buying anyway because why the hell not?! I also did find this book in NetGalley before, and was curious as to what it was about, but I never did plan on buying it. However, since I have spent my money on this beautiful hardback, I will be reading it as soon as I manage to finish a couple other books on my TBR list!

61gbGcxDesL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton 

Dustwalk is an unforgiving, dead-end town. It’s not the place to be poor or orphaned or female. And yet Amini Al’Hiza must call it ‘home’.

Amini wants to escape and see the world she’s heard about in campfire stories.

Then a foreigner with no name turns up, and with him she has the chance to run.

But the desert is full of dangerous magic. The Sultan’s army is on the rise and Amani is soon caught at the heart of a fearless rebellion…

I have heard so much about this book since it was released, and I have been curious enough as to learn what all the fuss is about, so I ordered it online and collected it in store just a couple of weeks ago! I will be reading this as soon as finish reading Passenger by  Alexandra Bracken, which I hope is this week so that I can start my April TBR list on the 1st (haha joke’s on me because I am a fool who gets sidetracked from reading quite a lot recently)

515fhShxXKL

Lady Midnight by Casandra Clare

In a secret world where half-angel warriors are sworn to gith demons, parabatai is a sacred world. A parabatai is your partner in battle. A parabatai is your best friend. Parabatai can be everything to each other – but they can never fall in love.

Emma Carstairs is a warrior, a Shadowhunter. She lives for battle. Alongside her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, she patrols Los Angeles, where vampires party on the Sunset Strip, and faeries – the most powerful of supernatural creatures – teeter on the edge of war with Shadowhunters. When tha bodies of humans and faeries are found murdered n the same way Emma’s parents were when she was a child, an uneasy alliance is formed. This is Emma’s chance for revenge and Julian’s chance to get back his brother Mark, who is being held by faerie Courts. All they have to do is solbe tje murders within two weeks… andbefore the murderer targets them.

Their search takes Emma from sea caves full of sorcery to a dark lottery where death is dispensed. And each clue she unravels uncovers more secrets. What has Julian been hiding from her all these years? Why does Shadowhunter Law forbid parabatai to fall in love? Who really killed her parents – and can she bear to know the truth?

A book I bought because I am going with the flow. I have heard so many people talking about Lady Midnight and the Shadowhunters that I just had to check out the book and buy it. So, I am not completely sure whether I will like this book or not, but it is humungous! With more than 600 pages it will be no doubth the second largest book I hav eever read this year!

51MVFXjT3eL

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Two outsiders. Two secrets.

David longs to be a girl.

Leo wants to be invisible.

When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secrets for long…

Lately, I have been reading more LGBTQA YA novels, and I think they are a brilliant way of showing diversity in novels and how important it is that these kinds of novels are available for young adults to read – because we live in a society where social mobility and acceptance is important!

So I look forward to reading this book!

51LtAwwSuqL

Radio Silence by Alice Oseman

Frances is a study machine with one goal. Nothing will stand in her way; not friends, not a guity secret – not even the person she is on the inside. Then Frances meets Aled, and for the first time she’s unafraid to be herself.

So when the fragile trust between them is broken, Frances is caught between who she was and who she longs to be. Now Frances knows that she has to confront her past. To confess why Carys disappeared…

Frances is going to need every bit of courage she has

I’ve been wanting to read this book for quite a while now! There is nothing more to say, other than the fact that I will definitely make sure that I will read this book next month no matter what people (or my books) say otherwise!


Well, that is all I have for now! I shall see you in my next post,

Nielle xx

Leave a Reply

