Book Review | Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli

 

stargirl

  • Series: Stargirl
  • Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group
  • Publication Date: 7th April 2016
  • Genre: Children’s Fiction, Teens & YA

NetGalley Description:

Before ELEANOR AND PARK, there was STARGIRL. The seminal life-affirming YA novel celebrating first love and self-acceptance – now in a beautiful new edition for the next generation of readers.

She’s as magical as the desert sky. As mysterious as her own name. Nobody knows who she is or where she’s from. But everyone loves her for being different. And she captures Leo’s heart with just one smile.

STARGIRL is a classic of our time that celebrates being true to ourselves and the thrill of first love. A life-changing read that touches souls of all ages

I would like to disclose that I have recieved a copy of Stargirl from Netgalley in exchange of an honest review.

The peculiarity and the very essence of Stargirl is what made me kept on turning the page and wanting to learn more about her and her astounding personality. I wanted to know what she will do next, and what the rest of the community will do next.

Being different, as demonstrated in the book can either go one way or another; make others admire you or avoid you like the plague – and both happened to Stargirl. It was hard to understand her, and I know that I would be one of the people who would avoid her if she was a girl in my school. I wouldn’t want to be associated with a character so different from what I am used to.

This book has presented the realities of what being different entails in a society where conformity is the norm. I loved Stargirl with how different she was and how unafraid she was to be different, and how Leo has been accepting of her and how he actually wanted to be with her nevertheless. However, I can empathise with Leo also wanting to be friends (and be in a relationship with her) but the stigma can be hard for someone who has been so used to not being avoided. The affection of a person is important, but being connected to others is also important.

I don’t know what really surprised me about the book, I wasn’t completely emotionally invested in it – I was just curious as to what will happen next, whether there was going to be a massive plot twist or not. I really liked Archie, and Senor Saguaro too – and even Cinnamon, even though I am musophobic I actually found him such a cute pet – especially his first interaction with Leo.

One thing that I found unrealistic though was the fact that Stargirl was too unusual and seemed like someone from a different dimension all in all. I’ve never met anyon like her, or Leo at all – I mean he kind of had stalker tendencies, and that is very troubling and not quite cute at all.

The writing style was very similar to that of Rainbow Rowell, and we all know how I feel about Rowell’s writing style ( I am basically in-love with her!). I really enjoyed reading this book with how real it was when it comes to how we react to people who are different from us.

All in all, for me the book was quite good and I quite enjoyed reading all about the first love of Leo and Stargirl along with their adventures. If you enjoyed reading Eleanor & Park then this a book for you!

One thing that I have noticed while I was reading was the review copy is that the words with ‘fi’ ‘ff’ and ‘fl’ these were ommitted from the words – so instead of ‘office’ the word just ends up saying ‘oice’ and it made it hard for me to read the book, and it took me quite a while to figure out some words. But nevertheless, it was a good book and I really enjoyed the story. 

Overall Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

Leave a Reply

