Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Hello chums!

I have been thinking about writing a book review post for quite some time now, and just haven’t had the time to do it (lies) and, since it feels like it has been long overdue – I am bringing to you a review of the book Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

IMG_6517

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of peculiar photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its decaying bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They ay have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow – impossible though it seems – they may still be alive.

  • Series: Yes – Miss Peregrine’s
  • Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Dark Fantasy, Horror
  • Pages: 353
  • Publisher: Quirk Books

Overall Rating: 3/5

Ransom Riggs’ novel is something I would never have picked up before – I’m too much of a wuss to even properly look at descriptions of horror films, let alone pictures o such peculiar children or of wights. But, I picked it up anyway and I did very much enjoyed it.

It is a book not only about a young man discovering a family secret, but about friendship and that sense of social solidarity – of finally being able to belong. It is such a strange – dare I say, peculiar novel. The mixture between written work and just looking at pictures is wondrous and I have to say that I enjoyed looking at the photographs even though some of them totally freaked me out.

Likes:

  • The plot of the story is easy to follow and it goes on in a nice pace. Lots of mystery and I really enjoyed how Ransom Riggs wrote the novel based on the photographs that he had found.
  • The photographs, I am amazed and still in awe after reading the book – the text and photos work so well together and it just shows how true the saying “A picture is worth a thousand words” is.
    • I also have to admit that some of the photos did freak me out, and I guess that is a good thing since it is a horror novel.
  • The idea that there is such as thing as a time loop I found quite interesting, and something that I as someone who is very interested in science quite promising. If only it has been better explained.

Dislikes?

Although, I enjoyed reading about the characters – I do have some problems with them. For instance, some of them are easily relatable and quite easy to like. But then, you realise how shallow and underdeveloped their characters are. Olive for instance, we know her as the girl who can levitate, but that is all that we know about her – nothing more nothing less. Even Millard and Emma – we know nothing of them apart from what’s revealed to us when they were introduced and we learn not much from the times they are in the scene. Even Miss Peregrine doesn’t have much depth in her – and I thought she was one of the more important characters what with her Time Loop ability and her being a bird changing guardian of the peculiars… but nothing.

The plot is great, there is a great potential from it, however the characters are also important – especially if this book is going to be a series.

I live in Britain, and although some places are much more developed in others – I don’t think that in the 21st century that a Welsh island could be that so far behind in technology. Yes, it may be a ‘remote’ island, but it is just ridiculous that there only exists one landline, in the whole island???? That just made me scratch my head and wonder “Why, is this particular Welsh island so remote and out of touch with the century? Did the government forgot that people lived there? That it’s the 21st century?” I just had to keep wondering throughout the whole book about the setting.

As a reader, I would assume that the author have done his research about British, or more specifically Welsh culture and their speech and the likes – but from what I have gathered from reading the book is that the way the locals – especially the teenagers in the island do not speak like the Welsh at all, and more closely like an American teenager attempting to be British(?) I found the way Dylan and Worm’s speech to be strangely American, and not British – and I would know because I am surrounded by them, I go to school with them! Also, sometimes I forget that they’re suppose to be in Wales – I’m only reminded by this when there is a mention of sheep (stereotypical, I know – and I am sorry).

Another thing is the romance in the novel – dear lord, I found it so weird and cringey. I mean Emma is a wonderful girl from what I had gathered, but it’s so weird reading how she was once with Abe (Jacob’s grandfather) and now Jacob – that is just weird! Like asdfghjkl! It feels like I keep coming across romance that shouldn’t even happen.

I need an explanation as to why birds have the ability to create time warps and loops, and a better explanation as to how these loops work. Although I really loved the concept of a time loop, I also need a thorough explanation as to how they work – you know, because science, and I’m the kind of person who needs thorough explanations anyway.

Overall?

I thought that it was a good book to read -although I would say that it is more of a young adult book and will be enjoyed more by the younger audience than adults. The text and the photographs do work well together – however, the characters lack depth and although relatable to an extent.

There is so much potential in this book, and I am still going to read the other books in the series – I’m just lowering my expectations.

Although I really enjoyed reading the book – I was still disappointed by it, in the end. I really like the premise of the story and where the plot was heading – but it became sort of boring in the end… it got to the point where the climax of the story became anti-climactic and I was just left hanging – wondering to myself “what the hell happened?”.

But nevertheless, it was a nice read – something out of the books I normally read. And I am still looking forward to read the next two books – especially if there are more peculiar photographs.


 


 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. This is a great review! I really enjoyed the book, but totally agree that some characters are mentioned and not fully developed. We do learn some more about some of them, especially Emma in the second novel 🙂 I also loved the plot and the pictures really added to the book, some of them are incredibly haunting!

    The film is being released this year and has been directed by Tim Burton so I’m looking forward to seeing what he’s made of it!

    Ps. As a Welsh person I agree that it’s very easy to forget they are supposed to be on an island in Wales!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you☺️ I have the second book and going to be reading it next – I have to agree with the pictures, they’re a great addition to the novel and I enjoyed looking through them (although I was creeped out by some). Yes I’ve heard that it’s going to be released this year, and the fact that Tim Burton’s directed it 😍 I can’t wait to go and watch it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

