Currently Reading: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Hello, People of the Internet!

It has been three days since my last post, and that was on New Years Day! How has everyone been?

I can tell you for sure that my year was off to a good start, when I received the news that I am going to be a permanent part-time worker at the retail store that I worked at over the Christmas holiday! Then, I made new friends and have been more sociable than I was before – so I hope that this carries on!

I am here today to talk to you about what I am currently reading – and write a mini review as well while I am on it.

At the moment, I started reading Ransom Riggs’ Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – I have been meaning to read this book for so long, and I am so happy that my mother got it for me for Christmas!

 

Synopsis:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of peculiar photographs. It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its decaying bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine’s children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow – impossible though it seems – they may still be alive.

I was intrigued by the book when I first walked in to Waterstones with the aim to look for a book in a genre I wasn’t as familiar with – unlike YA fiction, dystopian and romance – horror (or generally creepy genres) isn’t something that I am too keen on because of my overly imaginative mind.

But, when I held the book in my hands and read the synopsis and flicked through the pages – I knew then and there that I wanted to read it. That it was time for me to stop avoiding certain book genres and read a more diverse range of books.

So, here I am now writing about my current read.

As of this moment, I am enjoying the story and the pictures – I guess it is true that a picture is worth a thousand words.

I can also say that reading the book at night isn’t such a good idea for me – especially since I have quite an active imagination – and can easily imagine someone (or something) is in the room with me even though I am all alone.

In a few days’ time, I will be posting a review of the book – so look out for that if you want to know my overall opinion of the book after reading it!

Bye!

 

2 thoughts on “Currently Reading: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

  1. I actually really liked this book. It was different enough to catch my attention. I want to read the books after it, but sadly havent gotten around to them. Happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

