Book Review: The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

  

It’s the accident season, the same time every year. Bones break, skin tears, bruises blooms. The accident season has been part of seventeen-year-old Cara’s life for as long as she can remember. Towards the end of October, foreshadowed by the deaths of many relatives before them, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. They banish knives to locked drawers, cover sharp table edges with padding, switch off electrical items – but injuries follow wherever they go, and the accident season becomes an ever-growing obsession and fear. But why are they so cursed? And how can they break free?

  • Pages: 280
  • Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance
  • Publisher: Corgi Children’s 

Rating: 3/5

Likes!

I liked the idea of the characters, they are quite different and I quite liked how they are depicted in the book – and to a certain extent I can relate to them (just a teeny tiny bit).

Changelings! I enjoyed reading about the changelings in the book, they were interesting and I loved how they were described – the way Cara (the main character) talked/described them, actually made me picture these odd creatures – made me think what if something like that actually existed.

It’s a paranormal book, and there is a good sense of creepiness put into it. However, it wasn’t as creepy or scary as I thought it would have been when I’ve read some of the reviews.

Dislikes?

I am not a big fan of the writing style, but I suppose that it goes with the plot of the story. Although, I still don’t quite understand the whole plot of the story, since there are two worlds being described and it’s so random.

It’s great that there are “plot twists”, but they are hardly that (for me anyway) when I could almost see them coming. Then, there’s also the stories which you are told so briefly you aren’t sure whether you’ve read it or it was just your imagination.

The odd relationships in the book, especially one in particular that I found very, very weird.

Overall Thoughts?!

I think that it was an okay book, I can say that it didn’t like any other book that I have read – but there was too much weirdness in one book – and that’s coming from a girl who is quite weird herself.

I enjoyed the reason, although it took me  awhile to really get into the book and enjoy it’s – I was so confused most of the time and when I did manage to trap the whole concept it became predictable. For instance, the whole Elsie thing and her connection with the accident season.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading the book in all it’s weirdness – and that’s all that matters in the end – I enjoyed reading the book.

 

Leave a Reply

