Book Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

SPOILERS AHEAD! Read at your own discretion… 

  

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna had everything figured out – she was about to start senior year with her best friend, she had a grat weekend job, and her huge work crush looked as if it might finally be goig somewhere… Until her dad decides to send her 4383 miles away to Paris. On her own.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna finds herself making new friends, including Étienne  St Clair, the smart, beautiful boy from the floor above. But he’s taken – and Anna might be too. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with the french Kiss she’s been waiting for?

  • Pages: 400
  • Series: Anna and the French Kiss series
  • Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary, 
  • Publisher: Usborne Publishing UK
  • Overall rating: 3/5

Initial Thoughts:

I would just like to say that I bought this book ad decided to read it because it has recieved quite amazing reviews – and it has been praised quite a lot, so I though I might give it a chance and read it as well. 

My initial reaction to the book was “I don’t want to read this anymore”, once I opened the pages. It’s such a cliché young adult romantic book, and I was totally not liking it. 

I found every character annoying and I didn’t feel any connection to them at all – like i couldn’t relate at all. Then, there’s the obvious cliché where the female protagonist (who is also a new transfer student) meets attractive  male protagonist who turns out to have a girlfriend – so she tells herself that they could still be friends – they grow closer – guy obviously have feelings for her too, but still he stays with girlfriend – the girl gets mixed signals, gets hurt with boys actions so decide to “move on” and tries to date guy that boy hates, so on and so forth and lo and behold they are now together – promising to be together forever, the end.

I may or may not have just told you the story… but there are also things in between, that made it bearable for me – and even come to actually like the book. Although, I would have liked to also read more about Mer – because she sounded like a cool person – and of course, seen more of Ellie as well throughout the book. 

I have tld you what the book is about, now it is time for me to write the actual review.

Overall thoughts:

I wasn’t a massive fan of the book or the plot – because I thought it was quite clichéd and a tad bit predictable. But never the less, no matter how many times the story has been told and retold, and no matter how much you tell yourself that you ar sick of it – you still fall for the whole thing and you end up wating to know more and watig to know what will happen next. 

I was actually rooting at first for St Clair ad Mer to start going out just for the plot twist – like “i did not see that coming” kind of plot – but that didn’t happen, so I kind of felt a bit disappointed – but that’s just because I made up a differet ending in my head whilst reading the book. 

 But the ending of this book is sufficient enough to satisfy the inner-romantic within me. When I tried so hard to dislike the book with all my might – i still couldn’t help myself falling for the tricks that is what good writers do. They re-write a tale as old as time in a way they know will catch your attention and will make you interested in the story of these two people! 

I will ave to give this book an overallrating of 3/5! 

It isn’t the most original story – but it was written so well that I managed to stick with it and even thogh I already knew how it was going to end (although I was hoping for a last minute plot twist) i truly enjoyed reading the story of these two people.

Leave a Reply

