Book Review: The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

Hello guys,

It’s officially the end of Christmas, and almost the new year! This year has gone by so fast and I just want to thank everyone who’s reading my blog posts and are following me for doing so – because, even if there’s only one person reading my entries it makes me happy.
But, do stay tuned – because I feel like next year I will be doing more work on this blog and hopefully be able to deliver more work than I have this year!
Yours sincerely,
‘nielle

 


The Grownup by Gillian Flynn

  • Pages: 65
  • Genre: adult fiction, short story, mystery, contemporary
  • Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson

Rating: 4/5

‘I watched the house. It watched me back through long, baleful windows so tall a child could stand in the sill. And one was. I could see the length of his thin body: Gary trousers, black sweater, a maroon tie perfectly knotted at the neck. A thicket of dark hair covering his eyes…’ 

A young woman is making a living faking it as a cut-price psychic (with some illegal soft-core sex work on the side). She makes a decent wage mostly by telling people what they want to hear. But then she meets Susan Burke.

Susan moved to the city one year ago with her husband and 15-year-old stepson Miles. They live in a Victorian house called Carterhook Manor. Susan has become convinced that some malevolent spirit is inhabiting their home. The young woman doesn’t believe in exorcism or the supernatural. However when she enters the house for the first time, she begins to feel it too as if the very house is watching her, waiting, biding it’s time…

What I liked! 

I loved how Gillian Flynn’s opening sentence in this short story – really took me by surprise when I opened it – mind you I’m 18 and still in sixth form, I started reading it during a free period and Bam! First sentence something you don’t want anyone catching you read where there might be little people walking behind you and being nosy as to what you’re reading!

But I loved it!

I’ve read Flynn’s Gone Girl, and loved it! I loved it because it’s so twisted you don’t know who to believe anymore! And I realised that I liked this kind of books – so this was an easy story to rate for moi.

Dislikes?

I didn’t quite like how it ended, like sure there were so many twists and turns and I got so confused on who to believe anymore and I really liked how things turned out – but then the ending kind of didn’t do it for me. I was kind of hoping for something more than what was written there.

So maybe, what I’m saying is – I would’ve wanted to know where it lead to or that it would have been better if it ended earlier than it did.

Overall thoughts?!

It was a fabulous read – definitely taken me aback and made me wanting for more. I love her writing style and the twists in the plot – like you think you know what’s going to happen, but in actuality you don’t and you’re just there sitting with your mind blown!

All I can say is that, if you enjoy reading mystery, thriller and crime genre – then this (and any other Gillian Flynn book) is just for you!

 

Leave a Reply

