Book Review: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

  • Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne
  • Series: The Normal Series
  • Pages: 448
  • Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Mental Health, Feminism
  • Publisher: Usborne Publishing LTD

Rating: 5/5

 

 

Synopsis:

All Evie wants is to be normal. She’s almost off her meds and at a new college where no one knows her as the girl-who-went-crazy. She’s even going to parties and making friends. there’s only one thing left to tick off her list… But relationships are messy – especially relationships with teenage guys. They can make any girl feel like they’re going mad. And if Evie can’t even tell her new friends Amber and Lottie the truth about herself, how will she cope when she falls in love?

What I Liked:

First of all, I would just like to say that I really, really enjoyed reading this book by Holly Bourne. It was really good and I… I. Just. Want. To. Hug. It!

Characters, I love all of the characters – especially as they all felt real to me. They are all relatable and you can just imagine them being someone you may know in real life. And, sometimes authors can’t always make their characters very relatable.

The plot… it’s a story that is very insightful, because it is a story about a teenager who is suffering from severe OCD and General Anxiety Disorder, and Holly Bourne keeps it real – she doesn’t romanticise or sugar coat it, she keeps everything real. So, Evie suffers from OCD and Anxiety – big whoop, you might be thinking, but really we don’t know much about these kinds of mental disorders even though they are quite common, and the book shows our ignorance – or it has shown me of my ignorance, especially on the case of OCD. In addition to, there is also this sweet guy that Evie meets in one of her classes, and he’s so sweet – and cute, and he too suffers from general anxiety disorder – and the way he was depicted, I think was quite good and believable. Also, I really liked the fact that there’s a bit (well a ‘few’) of feminism in the book.

I also really enjoyed the writing style, since it’s easy to read and very engaging as well. Because, unlike the some books that I’ve read where the author sort of focuses on the disorder of a character or makes them the embodiment of said disorder – but, Holly Bourne doesn’t. Am I making any s I feel like I’m not.

Overall, I just loved it!

Disliked?

The thing about this book is that, I can’t dislike anything about it at all – even the characters that you are clearly supposed to dislike are quite good and I just can’t bring myself to dislike them. But, I guess if I have to say something that I disliked about a character – it would be the fact that Guy is a asdfghjkl… I can’t even say anything because it is a massive spoiler. So you guys just have to find out!

There’s only one thing that I disliked, and that is not knowing what happened with Evie and Oli afterwards!

Final Thoughts:

Overall, I really did love this book – I was quite unsure whether to read the book… Even though all I’ve heard were good things about it, but I thought it was going to be quite predictable and like any ordinary book about teenagers trying to fit in.

But this books, I found myself quite loving every single moment of it… Okay maybe not all of it because there were parts where no one in that situation would like at all – but it was so real and relatable and so insightful that I just couldn’t bring myself to not read it. 

Also, I’m looking forward for the next book in the series which I believe is coming out soon! So there’s something to look forward to! 

 

6 thoughts on “Book Review: Am I Normal Yet? by Holly Bourne

Leave a Reply

