It’s all about the hair

Hair, hair, hair!!!

Ever had any regrets when it comes to your hair… Be it dyeing/bleaching your hair and it went orange or not the shade you wanted, a haircut way too short or completely different to what you wanted etc… 

I don’t have any particular qualms when it comes to my hair or the haircuts – although there was this one time I asked my hair to be cut just below the shoulder but the hairdresser cut it shorter than what I asked 😭 – but that isn’t what this post is about! 

Having dark hair is great and I love having it, but as with any other hair colour – the owner sometimes gets bored with it and decides to shake things up a bit and bleach it or change it into a completely different colour like pink, blue, or any pastel or bright neon colours! 

image
I was born with naturally dark brown hair 👧🏽 I love my hair to bits, but I also want to explore and be a little bit adventurous with my hair. 

With that in mind, I went to hairdressers asking whether it would be possible for them to dye/bleach my hair, only the ends of my hair… Nothing too drastic – but most refused or advised me not to do it… Simply because I’m guessing because my hair is too dark and it would take a while to lift off the colour and it would damage my “beautiful” hair (as they called it). 

I said okay “thank you for your advise” smiled politely and walked away and went to the shop bought the bleach and did it myself. I regretted it while I was doing a strand test, “what the heck am I doing?” I kept on asking myself, but I carried on anyway. This is the riskiest thing I have ever done! 

But it turned out okay, although it’s a bit more orange than blonde, it’s all good 👍🏽 I quite like it. And if I’m really desperate to get it off, I could just chop my hair off, considering it’s waist length. Do I regret it? A little bit, but hey, it’s a great experience! 

But, I wouldn’t advise anyone to take the risk that I took when it’s your first time dying your hair. Why? Because you could damage your hair and you might not get the right colour that you want or that your hair will get too damaged and broken. 😔 

So if you decide you want to change your hair colour, I suggest that you go to professional! 

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Well, I Never….”

Leave a Reply

