Bedtime Stories?

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Bedtime Stories.”

As a child, I don’t think I was much of a book lover, actually I think I didn’t like books that much until I was around 10? But, I used to have a lot of story books given to me by my aunts and uncles, and I suppose my favourite one would be Peter Pan, the Disney version which was adapted from the film I believe.

I remember, I would read and stare at the pictures for a while, because I wanted to be like Peter Pan… or live in Neverland because you wouldn’t have had a bedtime… It was always about the bedtime, and the fact that in Neverland you can do whatever you want! But, I did realise that the only female child that was ever on Neverland was Wendy Darling – then later on Jane… so I thought I wouldn’t be able to go or whatever. But I still really liked the book – the boy who never grew up. I used to dream about being a character, that I was flying with everyone and I was friends with Wendy, Michael, John and Peter Pan… that I was in Neverland!

Also, I really liked the art of the book, I really like drawing then and I would use to try and copy the illustrations on the book… Of course, they weren’t all successful.

Well, in terms of it affecting the way I am now… I suppose it did a little bit. I still wish that I wouldn’t have to grow up like Pan, or that I could fly or go to Neverland on an adventure. But it did make me realise that why do I want to hurry up and become an adult when I should be enjoying my youth!

2 thoughts on “Bedtime Stories?

    • Thank you for your comment and sharing your point of view 🙂
      I guess you’re right – we don’t have to grow up entirely just enough to get by in the big bad world ☺️ Thank you again for sharing

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

