Finite Creatures

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Finite Creatures.

At a young age, around 3 years of age, I think I already knew that I was not immortal. Why? Because, at that age I lost one of the greatest people I have ever had in my life, my grandfather.

I used to think that he was invincible, that he will never die. But, I guess it’s only nature takings its course. I don’t remember understanding this then, I just thought he was in a deep deep sleep, and that he will wake up soon enough. However, when it was his funeral, I knew then that my grandfather was never coming back and that I will never see him again. I will never ride on his bike anymore in the morning, won’t be sleeping on his chest, won’t be sitting on his lap or even hear his voice or see his smile anymore. I remember kissing his face and his hands before they lowered him to the ground. I remember that I didn’t cry and just pretended that he was just sleeping and that one day he will wake up and we will have our daily bike ride like before.

That was when I realised that we are finite creatures, that death is inevitable. Of course, I did not actually know this at the time. But as I grew up, and as I went to school, and I have experienced more death around me, I knew then and there that death is inevitable and that we are not immortal.

But still, I wished that we were. I wanted to be like Peter Pan and the Lost Boys. “Never grow up” means that you will never grow old and maybe… never die. I still do, I wish that we were immortal and not mortal, that we will never grow old and that we will never die. Alas, life is more complicated than that. There are diseases and infections and wars and viruses… and the eventual death of the sun. Death is inevitable.

However, to think that we are finite creatures is one way of looking at our existence, but science thought me that we, in fact, live on forever. Although, it is not in the way that we want to be, we live on forever for infinity, but not in the way we are now.

No. Because once we die, we revert back to our most basic components, carbon, water etc… and this we contribute to our surroundings. Once we die, a new cycle begins, and our death contributes to this cycle ans parts of us still lives on in the ground people will walk in, in the air that we breathe, and as gross as it may sound, in the food that we eat (eventually).

It’s just the ‘circle of life‘ really. So what can we do? Nothing, we just live in the moment and do the best we can to live or lives to the fullest.

That is all, thank you very much for reading this.

_ _ _ _ nielle

4 thoughts on “Finite Creatures

  1. Yes. The inevitability of death is something that we consciously understand, especially after we’ve grown up, but understanding its implications and using them to better our lives is where many of us fail. An insightful post. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Albus Dumbledore has some wonderful thoughts on death: “After all, to the well-organized mind, death is but the next great adventure.”
    J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone – 1991-1992

    Like

Leave a Reply

